navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The leap of faith
Monday, Jan. 06, 2003, 12:03 pm

There�s this gal I work with�the one who adopted a baby about a year and a half ago. Her office is right next door to mine. Ever since her baby was born, she�s been the typical frenzied, stressed out working mother. There�s never enough time to do everything that needs to be done, let alone enough time to spend with the baby. She�s got it written all over her face. Burn out.

Hey, I�ve been there.

Then I made a bold move, and I�ve been living a less harried, if not poorer, life ever since. My level of job, and LIFE satisfaction jumped up by a thousand percent.

So she came into my office this morning to ask me some questions. She was nearly in tears, as she told me her wishes. I asked if she�d talked to her boss yet, and she said yes. All she had to do was come up with a workable plan. And so she was trying to do just that, and then it hit: her independence and self-reliance would be put on hold. She would be dependent on someone else for the first time since she was a teenager.

Folks, let me tell you how scary this is. I don�t care if it�s your husband or your parents, or whoever it is that you're about to become financially dependent on, when you�ve been a self-sufficient, independent career woman for all of your adult life, and then faced with the prospect of losing that, no matter how noble the cause, well, it�s terrifying. Reduced income, loss of health insurance, loss of paid holidays, loss of vacation accrual, and sometimes, loss of retirement benefits.

It takes a gigantic leap of faith to make this move. Faith in your marriage, your partner, your resolve. But most of all, faith that it�s the right thing to do. Unless you�ve been there, it�s impossible to imagine how difficult this is. Which is why, I think, she came to see me this morning.

I�ve been there, and I�ve made it work. In this company, I�m a success story and that makes me proud. She was looking for reassurance, and I gave it to her. With both barrels!


0 Comment(s)

last - next