navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Returning home?
Saturday, May. 21, 2005, 6:29 am

Been away for long enough, I think. It was a needed break, though. I'm still posting on our family journal, but it's not as liberating as this one. I've been reading some of my old posts here, and it made me miss this place a lot.

Since I left here (in October I think it was), lots of good stuff has happened, and more is on the horizon. At the top of the list is this: I'm quitting my job, and my last day at work will be July 28th.

It's hard to believe, but B will be starting Kindergarten in the Fall. Can she be 5 years old already? The passage of time is hitting me hard. In January P and I realized that we had a problem. Kindergarten at the school B will be going to is only 3 hours a day. 8:40 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. How are working parents supposed to work around that? I guess there's before and after school daycare, which costs almost as much as full-time daycare, but then we'd be relying on total strangers to drive her to school and then pick her up afterward. The thought of that is enough to keep me awake at night.

So, for three months we debated it. Finally, in March, we made the decision that I would stay home with her. It sort of freaked me out at first, but after I told my boss, I have accepted the decision fully, and I'm even starting to look forward to it.

The dynamics of our home life will be changing. It�s going to be interesting.

Now that I�ve dipped my toe in the waters of this journal once again, maybe I�m ready to drive back in. I really have missed myself here.


5 Comment(s)

last - next