navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The first day
Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2003, 10:26 am

We got take out Chinese last night, watched the ball drop in New York City, then went to bed. Such party animals.

Sometime in the night, all the power went off. I reckon it was off for about 4 hours. I was awakened by the utter silence of the house. Weird, huh? Well not really, when you consider that we are a household that seems to thrive on background noise. Music, or TV, or just the swishing of the dishwasher. We sleep every night with the sound of a fan. B's room has the constant sound of bubbles eminating from her fish tank.

When those sounds are gone - when there are no sounds at all, not even the hum of the furnace or refrigerator - it's disconcerning. Apparently, B noticed the quiet too, because not 5 minutes after the power went out, she was in our room, crawling into bed with us. The only sounds I could hear were of our breathing, which makes it hard for me to sleep, but I did fall back to sleep, and awoke hours later to the sound of our fan and the engagement of our furnace.

I came downstairs and it was 7 a.m., which means I finally got a full night's sleep. My head seems kind of clear today. How strange.

So today is New Year's Day. Well, Happy New Year! I guess scarfing on pancakes is as good a way to start the new year as any, so that's what we're doing. Then the Christmas decorations are coming down. It's pissing down rain today, which totally screws up the plans we had of taking B out to drive her Jeep around. We'll have to substitute a nice (brief) walk in the rain so she can try out her new umbrella. It has yet to be tested.

I had to work Monday and Tuesday, have today off, and have to go in Thursday and Friday. I don't mind these fragmented weeks so much, but I am sort of looking forward to getting back into our routine. B's schedule is so out of whack, getting her out of bed, dressed and to the daycare tomorrow morning will probably test my limits of motherly endurance.

I wonder if any stores are open today? There's something about spending too much money at Christmas that makes me want to go shopping. P too. He's been trying to get me to go with him to the Super Mega Gigantic Home Electronics Store for three days to look at a new computer he's got his eye on. It's pretty snappy, but so is the wood floor I'd like to have installed in place of all this carpeting. It's going to be a tedious negotiation, I can tell.

Well, I'm off. Lots of boxes to bring up, lots of packing up to do, lots of pine needles to vacuum up.


0 Comment(s)

last - next