navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The one about pee and barf
Monday, Oct. 28, 2002, 5:39 pm

I just love Fall. Mostly, I love Fall weekends when I don't even have to get dressed all day if I don't want to. No plans, no time constraints. Cool - even lousy - weather outside? Okay with me! Who cares, when you don't plan to go outside?

That was how my weekend was. Loveliness.

----------------------------------------

After a pow wow with B's daycare teacher last week, we decided this week we would potty train her in earnest. It's time to get serious and DO THIS. I admit, I'm not as diligent with her as I should be. Up til now, I didn't care if she was potty trained or not. I don't MIND changing diapers. Hell, changing diapers is a lot easier than potty training a kid. A LOT easier.

But anyway. She's two and a half, so it's time. I went out and bought these cool little "big girl panties" that are really soft and thick (read: absorbent)and completely lined with plastic. They look like panties, but with a plastic coating. Novel idea, eh?

I guess the idea is to minimize accidents as much as possible, which I'm all for.

So I packed up 3 or 4 extra sets of clothing and extra pairs of panties to take to the daycare this morning. When I got B dressed, I put her panties on and explained she wouldn't be wearing a diaper anymore. Actually, we discussed this concept many times over the weekend. Had the talk about "staying dry" and getting stickers, and being a big girl, and blah blah blah.

I hate potty training. By the way.

So this morning, she was all jazzed up about wearing her panties. And her little butt looked so cute in her pants without a diaper on.

We got to the daycare, got her stuff put away, everything all settled in, and before I even left the building, she had her first accident.

I feared this was an omen about how the rest of the day would go, but she actually did pretty good. Only went through two sets of clothes.

Did I mention I hate potty training?

----------------------------------------

My good friend at work had me laughing so hard today I thought *I* was gonna wet my pants. Something about encountering the receptionist in the ladies room, the poor girl being sick or something, vomitus all over the floor, after having not "made" it to the stall, noticing only clear liquid, commenting on the un-chunkiness of it all... guess you had to be there.

Coming from the Barf-A-Lot family, naturally I found this all quite hilarious. And barfing isn't your average every day subject matter for jokes. Which is what made it so funny. As I said, maybe you had to be there.

----------------------------------------

Would you look at the time? Gotta run. See you tomorrow. Maybe.


0 Comment(s)

last - next