navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Still on the Mommy Track
Thursday, Oct. 10, 2002, 6:41 am

Normally, I'd be on the road at this hour, on my way with B to the daycare, then into work. But B spiked a fever Tuesday afternoon, so I kept her home yesterday. It broke at around 9 pm last night, and she slept well last night. When I went in this morning to get her up, she was still so sound asleep, I just left her alone. I figure she needs it, so we're going to be late today.

On top of that, P was home yesterday with the stomach flu as well. They always get sick together. It's a conspiracy.

You know, with eight kids of his own, you'd think my boss would be a little more sympathetic. It's not that he doesn't understand that I have to stay home with B when she's sick. It's more the tone in his voice when I call him and tell him I have to stay home. Flat. I guess I'd like a little more emotion from him, but after this long, I know that's not gonna happen. But he's never given me a hard time, and that's something to be thankful for. Plus, my part-time schedule allows me the flexibility to make up the missed hours (if I want to). I am lucky to have that. Still, I am left feeling guilty after talking to him.

-----------------------------------------

It's chilly outside this morning. Yay! I'm ready for my sweaters. It's not cold enough for a jacket yet, but a cozy sweater will be just right today. Until I get to work, where the heat in the building is disproportionately distributed. Most of it goes directly into my office, so I have to start peeling off layers as soon as I get in. I don't know why they can't figure out a way to even out the temperature in that place.

-----------------------------------------

Last week our new receptionist asked me to distribute the mail for her. This after I went to her asking where my mail was (I was expecting something). She hands me this big pile of mail and asked me if I wanted to take it back and put it in the mailboxes -- she didn't have time. I looked at her rather blankly and said, "No, I really don't. I just want my mail." She seemed startled by my response, and quickly sorted through the pile and pulled out my stuff. I just said thanks, and walked away.

This was the second time in three days that she'd done this. I think maybe she's confused about my part-time schedule. Like it makes my position something less than it is because I'm not there 40 hours. Sorry, Dear. I outrank you, and although I like to be helpful whenever I can, I really really don't have time to do your job for you.

-----------------------------------------

Time to get moving. I don't mind being late, as long as I get there before my boss does. If I get B up now, I just might make it.


0 Comment(s)

last - next