navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

And I would have looked so cute today.
Thursday, Jul. 25, 2002, 5:37 pm

Last night I bustled around putting together a snappy outfit for work today. I was asked to attend a meeting that would keep me at work long past my usual 1:00 departure time, but I didn't mind. It was an important meeting!

I held skirts and blouses up together, in the bright light of the bathroom, to make sure the colors went together well. I tried on different pairs of shoes, and practiced walking in them. I EVEN contemplated wearing pantyhose, but decided NAH. No pantyhose for me.

Finally decided on just the right outfit, and had it narrowed down to two pairs of shoes, which I would decided upon pending how my feet felt in the morning. Totally reasonable.

So, I stepped out of the shower this morning, spritzed myself with yummy smelling body spray, applied the usual creams and goops to my bod, and was just stepping into my favorite panties, when I heard the screaming.

I ran out of the bathroom wearing only my favorite panties to find B standing at the top of the stairs with vomit all over her. And all over the carpet beneath her. And all over the stairs where she had apparently projectile vomited.

I cleaned her up, cleaned up the carpet as best as I could considering I was in a hurry, and laid her in bed with P, with the promise that as soon as Mommy got dressed, I would take her downstairs and give her some fizzy juice to make her tummy feel better. It worked.

I really really thought this was a one time vomiting episide, as it is so often. Hey, kids throw up. Often for no apparent reason. Why, just the other day her daycare teacher called to tell me she threw up all of her snack, but was just fine after that. Even ate all of her lunch. So I thought this was maybe another one of those things.

How wrong I was.

I did retrieve her from our bed and I took her downstairs. And I did, in fact, give her a bit of Seven Up. I don't know why parents give their kids Seven Up when they've thrown up. I just know they do. My mom did it for me, and I turned out okay. So that's my reasoning.

About 20 minutes later, as if it were possible, considering the amount she'd already thrown up, she hurled a second time. Not just a little, A LOT. As if nothing she'd eaten the entire day before had left her stomach -until now.

Well, by this time I have to consider the fact that I may need to keep her home from daycare. Believe me, my brain was scrambling to figure out a way to go to work today. After all, I was going to look so cute.

Then I thought, hey! I wonder if P can take the day off. He loves to stay home with B. Any excuse for a day off, right? Then I heard it. Horrible, awful wretching sounds coming from upstairs. OMG, P was sick too. What's with this family, anyway?

Honestly, if I didn't know we'd all eaten the exact same dinner the night before, I might have thought I'd poisoned us somehow. But I wasn't sick, so I surmised they must have picked up a bug somewhere.

Bottom line: we all stayed home today. They, in their sickly glory, and me, in my motherly/wifely/puke- cleaning-up glory.

Yeah, I missed the big meeting. But I didn't really mind. After B got puke in my hair, I kind of lost my enthusiasm for getting dressed.


0 Comment(s)

last - next