navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

A weekend of firsts
Tuesday, Apr. 23, 2002, 12:25 pm

Hi.

Me and B took a little road trip this past weekend. We drove down to Oregon to visit PawPaw. And other friends and relatives as time would allow. Which, of course, it didn�t, but oh well.

It was nice to see the family. The weather was certainly better down there than it was here. The sun shined all day on Saturday. I bought B her very first bike to ride around the driveway. It�s so cute. The tiniest little bike you ever saw, and her legs almost reach the pedals. Training wheels, flower decals, toddler sized helmet with matching sunglasses. You get the idea. Very chic. And oh so cute. I�m worried that P was a smidgen annoyed that he didn�t get to take part in the acquisition of her very first bike, and I really should have considered that before leaping in and buying it, but he wasn�t there, and I urgently desired her to have a bike. So I went ahead. It was impetuous, which I really think I sometimes need to be more of, so there you go.

After frolicking the afternoon away, we had a nice dinner out. PawPaw attempted to undermine my parental authority at every turn, however. Like, when B would refuse to eat her dinner, and only wanted to drink the soda pop that PawPaw got for her, and I took the soda away and insisted she eat a little too. Well, PawPaw would slide that drink right back over to her whenever I looked away, and there she�d be, gulping it down as fast as she could. When cornered on this issue, he�d simply invoke his grandparental right to spoil the child, which I could hardly argue with.

After dinner, we took PawPaw home, and by that time, B was getting fussy. So she and I headed for the Red Lion � which is where we always stay when we venture down that way (it�s way easier for me) � and we put on our new swimsuits and went for a dip.

This being B�s first time ever near a swimming pool, she was a bit reluctant to get in, but after I coaxed her into my arms, she really enjoyed it -- as long as she felt I was holding her securely. After about 15 minutes of playing around in the water, I was starting to get pretty cold, and so was she, so we got out for a few minutes. Then she pooped in her swimming suit and the party was over.

There was really only one thing I could do, and that was to wrap a towel around her, and take her back to the room to clean things up. And after all that, it didn�t make any sense to go back to the pool, so we just stayed in the room and ordered 7 layer chocolate cake from room service.

Next morning, we went and fetched PawPaw again, and went to breakfast. Afterward, we hung out at the old homestead for a while with the rest of the family, and then left for home about noon. Made good time and pulled into the driveway at 3:30 pm. B slept the entire way home.

So that�s pretty much it. Got home, emptied the suitcase, ate leftover pizza, and relaxed the rest of the day. Got the distinct feeling I was coming down with a cold, and sure enough, next morning both B and I are sick. Seems to just be a cold, and hopefully it won�t turn into an ear infection for B.

Oops, gotta run. Lunchtime is officially over (well, actually it was over 15 minutes ago, but, whatever!).


0 Comment(s)

last - next