navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

DST sucks, but my car doesn't
Monday, Apr. 08, 2002, 8:03 pm

Daylight Savings Time really sucks. I appreciate the reasoning behind it, but depriving people of an hour's sleep is just cruel. It's going to take me a week or more to get used to it. In the meantime, my eyes hurt, my child is grumpy, and my vampire husband is even more vampirish than before.

On a positive note, my car cost me just about what I was expecting on Saturday. I used three different coupons: front brakes, fuel injection service, and 90k full service. In addition, they had to replace my front "liquid filled hydraulic motor mount." All that for $650. And I must say, she runs like a top. My engine doesn�t go THUNK anymore when I put it into gear, or take off from a stoplight. That's what it does when your "liquid filled hydraulic motor mount" is broken. It's like your car is moving, but your engine stays where it is, thereby making the THUNKING sound. Now they move together in sync. Very nice.

I had the rare privilege of having an administrative assistant at my disposal today. Yee haw! I had that girl boxing up last year's files, making new files, and recyling and general disposing of unwanted things. All the stuff that I've been needing to do but have had no time (or motivation) for. I only had her for one afternoon, so I had to make the most of it. If I could have her tomorrow as well, I'd get all my filing done.

P has been on a shredding frenzy the last couple of days. I wouldn't call him a packrat, exactly, but he does tend to keep things for an unnecessarily long time. We are now the proud owners of 5 tall kitchen garbage bags full of shredded material. Good thing the recylers come tomorrow. But they're probably going to hate us after this.

I shouldn't really brag, but I just got the coolest sunglasses. They're every bit as snappy as my new glasses, but more Jackie O-ish. Only not as big. Just kind of curvy and roundy and, dare I say it? Sexy. P thinks so. And I see (look?) so good in them. They got the prescription perfect, and the tint is perfect. They are, well, perfect. A little background: I have never had great sunglasses before. Every pair, prior to this, has been met with much hatred by P, and eventually myself. I got it right this time, so I'm delighted.

Ah, what else. Hrm. I'm coming up empty here. Guess it's time to say goodnight. God knows I�m tired.


0 Comment(s)

last - next