navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Cover me, baby.
Thursday, Apr. 11, 2002, 9:35 am

Two days in a row. I did something TOTALLY stupid two days in a row.

First, yesterday morning. I made myself my usual Chai Latte Non-Fat. This, in my continuing effort to shake my $5 per morning Starbuck�s addiction. I super-heated it, and poured it into a disposable travel cup w/lid (I bought a whole pack of �em). Carried it, along with my purse, my lunch, B�s daycare things, and of course B, out to the car. Well, couldn�t get to my car keys holding so much stuff, so I put the cup of hot steaming spicy creamy goodness on top of the car. You know, like people DO sometimes. Got B strapped in, all the stuff settled in the car, got myself strapped in, car started, on our way. As I took the corner out of our driveway, I heard it. SPLAT. Then I saw it, streaking down the windows.

There wasn�t any point in stopping. The rain and wind were gusty, so the cup was long gone. Curses.

So I had to stop at Starbucks.

THEN, today. Made it only halfway to work before I�d finished my latte from home. These are small cups. Seriously needed more caffeine, so stopped at Starbucks atop Queen Anne Hill just prior to getting to the office. Got the last legal parking space on the street in front of the shop. Went in, got my fix (bad me).

When I came out to get in my car, some dick head in a $50,000 SUV had blocked me in from behind. I mean, he was so close to my bumper I could not move. AND he was parked illegally! The curse words flew. I couldn�t pull out until the car in front of me moved forward. Thankfully, that happened soon after I got in my car. Otherwise, I might have had to cause a big scene at Starbucks. Because you know that�s where the dick head was.

Ok, the last leg into the office. It�s actually just a few blocks away, down the hill and around the corner.

Got my usual spot in the parking lot, made sure my headlights were off. Gathered my things: lunch, purse, umbrella, Latte. My hands (arms) were totally full. Plus it was raining, and I went to the troubling of blowing drying my hair straight this morning, so I had to make sure my umbrella was poised for opening the instant I stepped out of the car. Ok. One..two..three�open door, jump out, umbrella open! Lock door, close door. See last five seconds of life pass in front of eyes in slow motion. Scream out, again in slow motion, �Nooooooooo!�

Too late. The door shut. And there were my keys, dangling from the ignition.

Arms still full, rain threatening to frizz my smoothened hair, I dashed for the safety of the building. Got inside the building, no problem. Too bad I couldn�t get into my office. Why? No key, or course!

Maintenance let me into my office. Thank you Maintenance Man.

And a big fat THANK YOU for my Emergency Roadside Service coverage under my auto policy. Some days you just need a little coverage.


0 Comment(s)

last - next