navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The Dora Review
Tuesday, Jun. 08, 2004, 5:58 am

On Sunday I took B to see the Dora the Explorer Live Show. She LOVED it. I�d recommend it for any kid under the age of 8 who likes Dora. And I�d also recommend forking over the extra money for good seats. Being up close to the action makes a huge difference.

And although I enjoyed the show myself, and I especially enjoyed seeing how much fun B was having, there was one aspect of it that I found disturbing. There�s one character, Boots, a monkey. The fellow playing Boots was kind of a big, strapping guy. This guy was wearing a spandex/nylon jumpsuit, kind of like those things ballet dancers wear. Anyone who has seen a male ballet dancer is quite aware of how �form fitting� these suits are. They don�t leave a lot to the imagination, if you get my drift.

The disturbing thing was this: Boots had nothing down there. No bumps, no lumps, no little boy bits AT ALL. There was nothing!

I understand why they�d want to make Boots look as asexual as possible. Nothing says Grown Man in a Tight Costume better than spandex covered man parts bulging for all the world to see. That would have been quite a distraction, I gather. But the total lack of anything showing was a huge distraction for ME. I spent the entire show staring at this guy�s crotch, desperately trying to discern whether there was any evidence of his manhood there or not.

What did they do to it? Where did it go? I can only imagine the binding process that has to take place before every show.

So, my review in a nutshell (no pun intended): great show for kids. Lots of singing, dancing, lights, and bright sets. But don�t go if you are hoping to see Boots� package.


2 Comment(s)

last - next