navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

She's here!
Tuesday, Dec. 30, 2003, 5:17 am

Real quick update, as I have to go to work soon.

I got tired of waiting around on Sunday, so I just got in my car and started driving. About halfway there, my phone rang and it was my niece's boyfriend, saying they had admitted my niece, and she was in quite a lot of pain, and it was really happening this time.

To make a long story short, and to skip over the parts where I'm holding one of her legs counting to ten over and over, and to also gloss over the part where I got in a small little cat fight with the boyfriend's mother (another long story in itself, which I will be happy to detail in another post, and which has already become an urben legend in my family)...

My sweet baby grandniece was born at 11:38 pm that night, weighing in at 8 lbs. 4 oz., and 20 inches long. She came into the world with a full head of dark brown hair. Now, you know that everybody thinks their babies are beautiful, but it's not true. Not many babies are truly "cute" or "pretty" when they're first born. But this baby, you should see her! I thought B was beautiful when she was born, but THIS baby, wow. She's very very very cute. I couldn't take my eyes off of her! And when I held her, it was amazing. So tiny, yet her features were so delicate and perfect already. Aside from the misshapen head (which had already begun to fix itself when I left) she looked perfect.

Because she came several days before anybody expected her to, I had to leave yesterday to come back home so I could finish up some work this week. Then I'm heading back down on Thursday, to spend a few more days, and to help my niece out at home, which is when I think she will really need me.

I'm so very tired! From all the driving, from staying up all night Sunday, from the emotion of it all. Jeesh, I need to go back to work today to get some rest.

Gotta run. More later!


2 Comment(s)

last - next