navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

New Year's Day 2004
Thursday, Jan. 01, 2004, 6:38 am

Yeah, so Happy New Year!

I�m probably the only one on the West Coast awake at 6:20 a.m. on New Year�s Day. Well, except for those revelers who haven�t been to bed yet.

Despite all attempts to stay up and ring in the new year, the call of my warm cozy bed at 10:00 pm was just too strong. B was already snoozing, having passed out watching a DVD in her room. P was also in a relaxed state of mind, after whipping me in a rousing game of Scrabble while we split a pint of good beer and ate popcorn. The weather was frightful, alternating between snow flurries, rain, and just plain cold. On such a night, home is where I want to be, so home is where we were last night.

I fell asleep with the TV on, which is not uncommon, and then sometime after midnight, B crawled into bed with me, and then P came to bed. We all three slept snuggled up together, and this morning at 5:30, I awoke. No headache, nor any other thing resembling a hangover, no bloodshot eyes, no ringing ears, no unquenchable thirst (yes, I have experienced all those things post-New Year�s Eve).

I am contemplating making scones, as I am Queen of the Scones, they are that good. First, I may check the weather, as I was planning on driving back down yonder to tend to my niece and visit with my sweet baby grandniece. But the night the child was born, the city was hit with 6 inches of snow, and it�s still there, only worsened by more snow, warm temperatures during the day, and freezing temps at night, which means lots and lots of ice and treacherous driving conditions. I�m not keen on driving in it. Not keen at all. Plus, it�s a long drive in good conditions. I can�t imagine a 200 mile white knuckle drive. I haven�t that much resolve, nor do I want to tempt fate.

So I may wait until the weather is less daunting and driving is safer. I�ll call my niece today to make sure she�s got plenty of folks around to help her out until I can make it back down there.

Meanwhile, I�ve got some baseboard mouldings to tend to. Seems like a fine time to visit the local home improvement store and buy some boards and some staining supplies. I don�t mind the cold when I�m working out in the garage. Except that it�ll take much longer for the stain and finish to dry on the boards, but that�s okay. I need to get my house back together. Having a dismantled house is so last year.

Okay, scones, yes. Craving homemade scones with butter and jam. Must get to it.


1 Comment(s)

last - next