navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Baby shower weekend
Sunday, Nov. 30, 2003, 5:38 pm

The weekend flew by! Thanksgiving was quiet, with just the three of us. I cooked only our favorites (turkey, potatoes, stuffing, gravy, and sweet potatoes, pumpkin pie). No salads, no other desserts, no green bean casseroley things. Just the basics, which is all we really like.

We were out the door by 10:15 the next morning to make the 3.5 hour drive south. Got there, unpacked the car, then headed out to do last minute door prize shopping. The next morning, Dad insisted on paying for all the food I'd ordered. A couple of sandwich trays, a bunch of caesar salad kits, many bags of chips, and many liters of various sodas. Lunch for 25 people. I didn't want him to pay for it - I tried to sneak off to the store myself to pick everything up, but he was determined.

My aunt ordered and picked up the cake, which was adorable. I tried to pay her for that too, but she wouldn't hear of it. I expected to have to spend $200 of my own money on this shower, but I ended up having to spend about half that much. P is grateful for that (me too).

B insisted on wearing her princess halloween costume on the day of the party. She was pretty well behaved that day, considering how much cake frosting she ate, and how many chips! And I discovered she has a serious weakness for cheeseballs and crackers. Who knew?

It was a good party. My niece made a nice haul. Almost everyone who RSVP'd showed up, and even a few who didn't. Everyone complimented me on putting it together, which really wasn't that hard. I didn't make any of the food, and I had a lot of family helping.

After two nights of sleeping in a strange bed, both B and I are very glad to be home. The drive home was great - not a lot of traffic and the weather was nice (no rain). We left at 8:30 a.m. and got home at noon. Today was spent attempting to hang outdoor Christmas lights. Unfortunately, most of my strings of lights had decided to stop working. So after a while, I just gave up and threw them all in the garbage can. A proper little snit my neighbors were able to witness and enjoy.

Now we're eating frozen pizza (Red Baron) and relaxing. B is upstairs watching Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer for the 50th time this weekend. I'd forgotten how kids her age are totally into repetition. It drives me crazy.

Tomorrow I'm off to the home improvement warehouse store to buy baseboard mouldings and stain. My new goal is to finish this project in time to host a Christmas get-together for our friends, who may or may not have forgiven us for canceling Thanksgiving on them! We're going to try to make it up to them by doing something for Christmas. We'll see how it goes.

P's Christmas present arrived while I was gone. The package is sitting on the table, and he knows where it came from (Powell's). It's making him nuts! He thinks it's his Christmas present, but half of it is really his birthday present, which is Dec. 8th, so he won't have to wait as long as he thinks he does. I'm going to leave it where it is, to tantalize him.

My pizza is getting cold, so better run!


0 Comment(s)

last - next