navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

A late start, but we'll be celebrating Halloween with gusto!
Friday, Oct. 31, 2003, 5:24 am

Since B was born, it has been my solemn vow to celebrate every holiday with gusto. But this year, up to this point, I have had a hard time getting into the Halloween spirit. I've been letting other things get in the way. Too much busy work. But today, Halloween, that's going to change.

B's little daycare party is at 3:15 in the afternoon. We've (me and P) been planning to go to this little party because we feel obligated to, even though it cuts right into the middle of our afternoon and will last about 30 minutes. But I just had a surge of inspiration. I'm going to wear my Halloween costume. The witch one I wore last year. I'll be the only parent dressed up, but I don't care. It's for B, and for me, to get us in the right mood for Halloween.

Then we'll all go home together afterward, and I shall do no household chores. No cooking, no cleaning, no painting or constructing or destructing. We will carve our pumpkins (the same pumpkins we've been planning to carve for days now, but didn't because of this *&%$*&$ cold I came down with.) Then we shall place them on the porch and put candles inside and light them.

Then we'll have a little bite to eat, and then we'll go trick or treating. And we'll let B trick or treat until she can't run anymore, or can't carry her bag of candy anymore. We are looking forward to that -- it's so very cute.

We will take many pictures of B in her princess dress. Yes, this is the year of the princess. I've heard that nearly all of the other little girls in her preschool class are dressing up as princesses, too. Must be a 3 year old thing.

After trick or treating, we'll come home and attempt to keep B from eating her weight in candy. Keeping P and I from doing the same will be a challenge, also.

We have the rest of the weekend to work on this house. Today is Halloween, a day we'll be celebrating with gusto. I almost lost sight of my goal there for a while. But I got it back this morning. Much to do to catch up, but I'm looking forward to it.


0 Comment(s)

last - next