navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

A little off the top, please.
Sunday, Oct. 12, 2003, 1:39 pm

Last evening we went out for dinner at Chili's, which is in a indoor/outdoor kind of mall near here. After dinner, P went one way (to the bookstore), and B and I went another. At one point, we walked past a cute little hair cutting salon just for kids. B was fascinated, and wanted to go in to get her hair cut. I told her no, that I wasn't ready for her to have her hair cut just yet. It's never been cut in her life, and although I've thought about it, I am just not ready. But the kid's hair is goofy, seriously, and could probably benefit from a professional cut. It grows long on top. She has very long bangs, and in an almost perfect crown it grows long too. But the underneath part, the part around her ears and along the back of her head, well it's not growing quite as fast. And it's curly. The top crown (long) part is very straight and sleek. The underneath part is short and curly. Strangest hair I've ever seen. But I haven't wanted to cut it because I keep thinking it will all catch up and be beautiful and long and perfect.

This morning B decided it was time to cut her own hair. Using her little blunt-nosed preschool scissors, she hacked off a big chunk on the left side of her head. Now the top part is long then chin-length then long again.

So now I have to have it cut. This is not something I want to do or am prepared to do. I only know that I can't leave it like it is. It was goofy before, but now it's extra goofy. And I thought about doing it myself, but I remember some of the haircuts I received from my own mother, and quickly decided against it.

After she wakes up from her nap, we're headed to the mall again. I guess she's going to get what she wanted after all. A lot of good it does me to tell her no.


1 Comment(s)

last - next