navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Buried under dust bunnies
Saturday, Oct. 11, 2003, 6:39 am

This house is a mess. We have very few groceries. There are probably 5 loads of laundry to be done. I have dead plants in all of my outdoor planters that need to be cleaned out. Two umbrellas on my deck need to be taken down and stored. Nothing is where it belongs, and every surface I can see needs a good dusting. In addition, the bathrooms are biohazards, the refrigerator is full of science experiments, and the cupboard below the kitchen sink where we keep our garbage can�well, I shouldn�t even mention it.

It�s obvious what we should do today. Instead, we are going here. Why subject yourself to drudgery when you can be out having fun?

But then that�s been our problem all summer. Small wonder this house is in the condition it is. P keeps saying we should just bite the bullet and hire a cleaning service to come in and just do it all � get it over with, and up to snuff just once, and then we can maintain it ourselves.

A part of me agrees with him, but another part of me would feel really guilty for doing that. Money doesn�t grow on trees, you know. And the $200 it would probably cost to do that � well, shouldn�t we try to save that money by being responsible adults and keeping our own house clean?

And a cleaning service wouldn�t help us with our biggest problem: clutter. I don�t want strangers in here trying to figure out what to keep, and what to do with it. I should be able to at least do that much, right? So if I�m going to all the trouble of de-cluttering, why not just keep going and do all the rest too? That�s what I�ve been saying for weeks now.

How do I motivate myself to get started when there is so much fun stuff to do that doesn�t involve cleansers or vacuums or laundry detergent? Maybe I am just lazy. There you go. I have an excuse.

I look around me and I go, �Yuck.� I want my beautiful house back. Perhaps I�ll squeeze in a few loads of laundry before we head off to the aquarium. Maybe I�ll organize this computer desk before we go too. A drop in the bucket, I know, but it�s better than nothing.

Tomorrow, the bathrooms. Unless something comes up.


2 Comment(s)

last - next