navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Baby, it's hot outside
Saturday, Jun. 07, 2003, 7:00 am

It�s hot. Yesterday it was something like 95, which is freakishly hot for June 6th in the Pacific Northwest. Thursday and Friday we spent the afternoons at the beach, which is a short 5 minute drive down the hill from our house. It was so crowded that finding parking was difficult. But once on the beach, under the umbrella, watching B frolicking in the already warm water of Lake Washington, the heat was bearable. It was rather pleasant, in fact.

This past week has been interesting in small ways. On Monday morning, as I was leaving to go to work, I found that someone had left 13 white lilies on my front doorstep. No note or any other indication of who left them there. I took them inside and put them in a big vase. They�re still lovely. I wish I knew who left them and why. P was just as baffled as I was.

Due to some knee pain I was (am) having, I have to go to physical therapy twice a week, and had my first session on Wednesday. It is a holistic center, and the PT seemed to barely touch me, but assures me that with the right pressure here, the right stretches there, and a couple of sessions of deep tissue massage, I will be back in working order by the end of the summer.

The best news of the week came from P, who learned in a meeting on Thursday that his professional goal of becoming an ATF (associate tech fellow) is about to be realized. Becoming an ATF is like getting the golden ring for engineers who aren�t interested in pursuing the management path. The only thing higher to aspire to is TF (technical fellow), positions which are few and far between. ATF is considered to be the pinnacle of an engineer�s career, and not many are chosen to pursue that role. So he is especially honored and proud to be the �heir apparent� to the outgoing ATF, which means he is now being mentored and groomed to fill his shoes.

Haven�t heard much from my niece lately. I need to call her today to see how she�s doing. She hasn�t reached the point of no return yet, so I want to keep an open dialogue with her.

I have started going through baby things, however. It�s easy to get caught up in the excitement of a new baby, regardless of the circumstances. If she has a baby girl, she will be set up, I�ll tell you that. I have so much baby stuff it isn�t funny. It�s like I knew B would be my only baby, so I did everything and bought everything to the n�th degree. And there were so many gifts. I loaned almost everything to my Good Friend, who had her baby girl a little over a year ago, and she�s just like me in that she took immaculate care of every single thing, and returned it to me in the same condition as when she got it. I love her for that! Not only my things are being returned, but she�s adding some of her own, which means there�s even more than before. Like I said, if my niece has a baby girl, she�ll be set.

And now for something toally unrelated. You know, everywhere I go there are people driving around in cars with a box of Kleenex in the back window. I�m thinking, if you�re in your car and you have a sudden and urgent need for a Kleenex, the back window is about the worst place they could be. Wouldn�t you agree? I don�t get that. I really don�t.

That�s it for now. I seem have the attention span of a goldfish lately, so my time here is up. I�m going to go outside and enjoy the cool air while I can. Something tells me it won�t be cool for very long.


1 Comment(s)

last - next