navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Mama's new computer
Tuesday, May. 27, 2003, 5:33 am

And now from the �Who Cares?� category:

I got a new home computer. I�ve never had my very own computer before, so it�s kind of exciting to me. P and I have always shared a computer, which meant we sometimes had timing conflicts. No more of that!

The hard drive on the old computer had started to make a horrendous noise. It made us very nervous. All of our financial records and photos were stored on that hard disk. If it failed, we worried we�d lose everything. So he set about obtaining a new disk. Well, one thing turned into another, as computer things always seem to do, and before I knew it, I had a whole new computer. That my techno-geek husband built! He also built one for himself, so now we have two computers. One here on the main floor for me, and one downstairs in his �bunker� for him. They seem to be very �robust.� He wrote the specs down for me, but I lost the paper so I can�t recite them to you. All I can remember is that I have 1.5 gh (whatever that means) and something like a 837413741676523 gb hard drive. Pleeeeeeeeeenty of room for my lovely photos. Which aren�t actually stored on my computer, but are actually stored on his computer downstairs. But I can access them anytime I want to because we are a wireless network now. We used to have to yell up and down the stairwell to each other � actually considered getting an intercom system. Now we just IM with Messenger on Windows XP. Which is a terrific improvement for Windows, by the way.

Speaking of wireless, there are no wires to my keyboard or my mouse. It�s kind of weird. Oh, and we both have a see-through case, but P's has a purple neon light in it, which is freaky! He offered to put one in mine too, but I declined.

P says he�s going to replace my monitor with a 17� flat panel. I feel like a little kid waiting for �Daddy� to bring home a treat for me every day. In this case, however, it�s computer candy. My birthday is in July, and I believe I shall see that monitor around that time. My desk top is going to be so free from clutter. Don�t know what I�ll do with all the space.

So P�s hobby room downstairs looks like a computer graveyard. He says he�s got enough pieces left over from previous computers that, with just a few inexpensive upgrades, he could build a computer for the girls� room, plug in a wireless card, and they�d have internet access up there too. Which would be great, because when K�s here, she wants to use my computer all the time. I suspect that very soon she�ll have her own.

P did all this for less than the cost of one already-put-together computer he could have bought at the computer store. Hey, it�s good to have a geek around the house sometimes!


1 Comment(s)

last - next