navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Ask and ye shall receive
Wednesday, Apr. 16, 2003, 7:19 pm

A few entries ago I was complaining that I didn't have seven hundred and fifty dollars to make over my bathroom. I was racking my brain trying to figure out a way to pay for this project I wanted to do so very much.

Last week my boss informed me I would be receiving a $1,000 bonus. Now, being a part-timer, we weren't really expecting a bonus this year, so it was a very nice surprise. After taxes, that's about (say it with me) SEVEN HUNDRED AND FIFTY DOLLARS!! When I told P about it, he said, "I guess you can do your bathroom project now, eh?" (He speaks Canadian sometimes). I said Yay and Go Me!

So, guess what I've been doing for the past 5 days. That's right! Tiling my bathroom countertop. It's a long countertop, with two sinks, so it was quite a bit more work than the other bathroom. But it's all done now, and it looks fabulous. New faucets too.

Of course, the rest of the project still remains. Can't quite decide what to do next. Maybe the new light fixture, but I may have to call in an electrician for that, since I want two fixtures and there is only one now. I do a lot of things, but electricity ain't one of 'em unless it's simple.

Then there's paint, shower door, wood flooring (!), new baseboard, door, and window moulding, new framed mirrors, towel bars, etc.

Lots left to do. But the really tedious hard part is done. Tile sure looks nice, but what a pain in the caboose.

Oh, and the color I've chosen? A very pale shade of sage. It's called "Pine Frost." It's cool and warm at the same time. All the wood trim and floor will be a medium shade of pine (or something similar).

So. It begins again. My muscles are already sore.


6 Comment(s)

last - next