navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

An attempt to update. A thwarted attempt.
Thursday, Apr. 10, 2003, 6:35 pm

I wish I could attribute my latest absence from Diaryland to a nice, relaxing vacation. But I can't. Truth is, I've just been too preoccupied to write anything. Battling a nasty sinus infection, watching current world events, bustling at work, and other exciting things have kept me pretty busy. And though I've tried to keep up with my favorites, it's been hard to find the time (or the will) to sit down and write.

So perhaps I'll just ramble a bit today.

I won't talk about the war in Iraq. Nothing I have to say matters to anyone but me, and I know how I feel. Sometimes. Depends on what day it is and whether I'm ovulating.

Had my yearly doctor's visit the other day. Yes, that one. But this year was different because I'm turning 40 in July. Turning 40 changes everything, apparently. The normal 10 minute appointment turned into an hour long appointment, with my doctor spending lots of time talking to me about my health, nutrition, and other things. When he asked me what kind of birth control P and I use, I said, "We have a three year old." He smiled and nodded.

Looks like I get to have my first mammogram this summer. My doctor believes in yearly mammograms beginning at age 40. Yay.

Tomorrow I get to go in for blood tests. They'll be checking my cholesterol and some other thing I can't remember, because I mentioned to my doctor that sometimes I feel like I'm getting older because I have aches and pains I didn't have when I was younger, and sometimes I'm really stiff and achy when I get out of bed in the morning. He seems to think there's something odd about that, because he scribbled a bunch of notes down, and suggested this blood test to check for something, I'm not sure what. Me, I think it's just a result of a too-inactive almost 40 year old body being forced to pack around a 32 pound three year old, and also engage in something akin to WWF wrestling every night. But hey, he's the doctor.

Well, as usual, my good intentions of writing a long diary entry today and catching up on the past couple of weeks have been thwarted. A strawberry juice covered child has just commanded my attention, so I've got to be off.

I shall try again later. I will.


1 Comment(s)

last - next