navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

A day off to play
Saturday, Feb. 01, 2003, 7:30 am

I did, in fact, take yesterday off from work. Despite all the errands I needed to do, and everything I needed to get done, I managed to do exactly one thing. And it wasn't on my list.

I made a trip to the hardware store, bought some wood, dug out my saws and sander and various other tools, and made a TV stand that fits into the huge opening of the armoir in my kids' room. See, their TV sits too low in the armoir right now, and since K hasn't had any seizures for several months now, we think it's time to put the bed back up on its rails, which means the TV will be WAY too low, so it needed to be lifted up in the armoir about 10 inches. Since the armoir is sort of the show piece in their room, P suggested I make the stand look as good as possible, to avoid detracting from the beauty of the armoir.

Took me about 3 hours, more or less, and it's quite nice, if I do say so myself.

Once we get it in place today, perhaps I'll snap a pic for posterity.

As for all the things I intended to do but didn't? Eh. Not gonna worry about it. Power tools are really just big dangerous electric toys to me. And it felt good getting out there and sawing some wood, and building something. Though it's not a huge thing, I did make it extra nice by applying some decorative moulding and applying a nice stain. It helps to use good wood, too.

Sometimes a girl's just gotta play with her tools, you know?


3 Comment(s)

last - next