navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

I'm crabby tonight.
Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2003, 5:53 pm

Oh, I am so grossed out right now.

We here, at Casa Whata, love crab. It's not often we get to enjoy a crab feast, though, due to the high price. When each little crabby costs an average of $8 at the supermarket, it takes a pretty special occasion for me to take the plunge and buy some.

Today, however, I experienced one of the rare benefits of working for a Seafood producer. They offered to us, their valuable employees, a deal on Dungeoness crab that I couldn't refuse. I came home with 15 of my very own crabbies. They were fresh (not previously frozen - a good thing!), and because some of the shells were cracked, or some of them had missing limbs, or whatever, they weren't pretty enough for the supermarkets, so they offered them to us for $1.50 per pound. That's an amazing price, and I took full advantage of it, planning to have a few for dinner tonight, and freeze the rest for later enjoyment.

To get to the point of preparing a nice meal, and several future meals, however, took me to the limits of disgust.

A crab is fully cooked at the plant. Ready to eat. Only trouble is, they still have all their guts inside of them, which have to be cleaned out prior to steaming and/or freezing. Okay, I guess they don't have to be but I, personally, would never serve a crab with its guts still inside. And a crab full of guts would never go into MY freezer. So all those guts had to come out.

Have you ever seen the inside of a crab? It's the most disgusting sight. I can't even describe it properly. It's just nasty. And so there I stood at my kitchen sink, little knife in hand, scooping out guts for over an hour. The first few nearly made me barf. Seriously. I thought by the time I got through a few of them, I'd be desensitized to it, but no. The last one grossed me out as much as the first one.

I'm not sure I want to eat crab for dinner tonight. I'm having trouble getting the images of crab guts out of my head.

**********************************

Turns out I may have been the lucky one this past SuperBowl Sunday. When P returned, he was frazzled and clearly glad to be home. While B and I enjoyed a quiet and restful afternoon together, P was in the company of our friends, taking part in a SuperBowl "party" of sorts. I was gloomy about not getting to go, but after I heard about the bickering and general lousy behavior that went on, I was glad I didn't get to go. It seems Aaron was in a foul mood, and took every opportunity to treat Sandy badly. We've seen that before, but we thought Aaron had mellowed out some. Guess not. We suspect it's only a matter of time before Sandy sees the light.

P and Scott and Julie couldn't wait to get out of there. They were literally counting the minutes.

Hee hee.

**********************************

Still working full days. I may take Friday off, though. There are a few things I need to do, and working all day is getting in the way. Like getting my oil changed, making a hair appointment, getting the stereo in my car looked at. Things like that. Work gets in the way of living, I think.

**********************************

Thanks to everyone who left me a comment about my SuperBowl depression. I appreciate everyone's thoughts about it, even those that nailed me on some obvious points! Yes, I agree it's a good idea to expose B to different environments, and it wouldn't hurt her a bit to visit someone else's house once in awhile. I promise to work on that one. But it's really hard when your friends have the most unfriendly environment for kids, two yapping dogs who scare the child constantly, and not enough seating, requiring some folks to plop down on the floor. Which I don't mind too much, but B gets tired of sitting on the floor, and wants to stretch out on the couch or in a chair. But the grownups have dibs on the furniture. And then there's the napping thing, and the potty thing, and the other thing, and that other thing, and� Well, you get the point. It's not worth it sometimes.

But thanks for the suggestions! I really do appreciate them all. Mostly, though, I appreciate the sympathy. :)

**********************************

Time to get steaming. Hope I don't hurl.


6 Comment(s)

last - next