navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Has it been a week already?
Sunday, Aug. 25, 2002, 7:06 am

This past week has been strange. Not normal, but not un-normal (abnormal?) either. K hasn't had a seizure since last Saturday night, which we're taking as a good sign. A man P works with told him that his daughter had two back-to-back seizures when she was 6, and never had another one. Never could figure out why they happened, but it never happened again. So there is hope. K goes to the neurologist for testing on Tuesday and Wednesday of this week, so we shall find out more then.

I want to thank everyone who left kind messages in my guestbook, and who sent me e-mails. I really appreciated it - meant a lot to me. It helps to know so many people care and that what we're going through isn't all that unusual. It really does help a lot.

---------------------------------------

We wrote a letter to the commanding officer of the naval base where the young man who helped us so much is stationed. We just wanted to let him know what happened, and how much the young man's help meant to us. Told him that if this man is typical of the men and women in our armed forces, we believe our country is in good hands indeed.

---------------------------------------

This weekend we have spent at home, just hanging out. It's been nice not feeling like we have to rush to get somewhere. The weather has been a little cooler, in the 70's, which means we can enjoy our patio without melting. So most of yesterday we just sat around out there, talking and sipping beverages, while B watched The Jungle Book for the 100th time up in her room. She just recently became interested in movies, and she loves The Jungle Book. We're okay with that. No commercials, no obnoxious soundtracks. And she's picking up on all the cool lines from that movie (with P's help). She's saying things like, "Look me in the eyes, Mama. Both eyes if you please, Mama." And she's marching around the house shouting, "Hup two three four, keep it up two three four. It's the military way!" Really cute.

---------------------------------------

Lately, I've noticed my relationship with B has changed somewhat. I think she's starting to see me as more of a peer than a parent. I don't know where she's getting this. She's only two, but so independent and defiant with me. She won't eat what I give her -- insists on eating something of her choosing, and is so persistent and persuasive that, I'll admit, I often give in to her. Maybe I've established a pattern of wimpiness on my part, so now she knows that all she has to do is wear me down, and she'll get what she wants. She doesn't do this with P. But she alternates between being a little devil child, and being the most loving mama's girl on the planet. Even at night now, she wants to go to sleep with me. She has always gone to sleep in her own bed, but now she cries and cries, and waits for me to go to bed, then gets up and comes into my bed. And I let her stay, because she snuggles right in and almost immediately falls asleep. Then I transfer her to her own bed, but at 3 a.m., I find her back in bed with us. This is a really hard one for me, because I like having her near me at night. The other night, before she fell asleep, she rolled over and said, "Good night, mama. I love you truly, mama." And that melts my icy heart, and all I can do is watch her fall asleep and marvel in how precious she is. But I know that for her own good, she needs to go to sleep in her own bed. What to do?

---------------------------------------

My house is a mess right now. I need to clean every single room in it. I think I'll make a list for P and plan on doing that today, since it's cloudy and cool (so far). I did all the laundry yesterday, which makes the rest seem a little easier somehow. Everything else is gravy, in my opinion. If it gets done, great. If not, okay. At least the laundry is done. That's my warped sense of priority for you.

Of course, if these clouds burn off, we might blow off the housework and take the boat out for a spin somewhere. That's okay too.


0 Comment(s)

last - next