navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Our camping trip. Part 3.
Monday, Aug. 19, 2002, 5:12 am

(I wrote this last night, but couldn't post it because Diaryland was down)

Continued from this morning�

The trip home from Mt. Vernon took about 1.5 hours. After N dropped me and B off at our house, she took K straight to her pediatrician's office. She called later to say the doctor basically told her the same things the doctor at the hospital said. And to make an appointment with a neurologist on Monday. So, no news there.

B and I spent a half an hour decompressing, then went to bed. I was a little fitful, worried about P still out there, toiling, packing up gear, out on the road. A long trip still ahead for him. But at least he wasn't driving. I slept from about 9 am to 12:30. B slept for a few hours more. P got home around 1 pm. Still so keyed up, he proceeded to unpack the Jeep and the boat. But I stopped him. Told him it could wait. He finally agreed, after unpacking the coolers of uneaten food and drinks.

We spent the rest of the day in a sleep deprived stupor, but neither of us could relax. I'd actually had a good nap earlier, but P was like a walking zombie. All afternoon we fought tears. Each combusting spontaneously in little fits that lasted only moments, but left us exhausted. Finally, all three of us went upstairs to our bed. To hold B, play with her a little, and enjoy the air conditioning. Within a few minutes, P was asleep. I took B into her room, tried to get her to nap again (so I could), but she wasn't interested in sleeping. So I gave up trying, turned on Nickelodeon for her, and came downstairs to write my first entry about what happened.

We talked to N several times during the day. To make sure K was all right. She was. She didn't remember any of the seizure. That's good, we thought. She was eating and talkative. Enjoying the added attention. Getting little gifts and treats. We were very happy to talk to her on the phone. We promised another getaway as soon as possible.

The call came at about 12:30 am. Ironically, that's almost exactly the time 24 hours earlier when this ordeal began. It was N, saying K was in the middle of another seizure. But, because we'd just been through it all, nobody panicked. No screaming, no ambulances. Just a quick call to the pediatrician on call -- who happened to be their pediatrician, who walked them through it, reassured them of the things to do, and what to expect. How it would pass. And it did. As slowly as the first time, but with expected results. And then K slept again til morning, and didn't remember anything. But I don't imagine N or her husband slept very much last night.

We are on vigil tonight. Two seizures in a 24 hour period is very worrisome. A third one tonight will necessitate a trip to the hospital. Not the local hospital. Children's hospital. By order of K's pediatrician.

P just left to go out there, to see K. We would have gone, but it's too late for B, and I have to go to work in the morning. P is planning to take the day off tomorrow, to go to the neurologist with N and K. As he should. Barring anything happening tonight.

So that's it so far. Emotions are running high around here. A sick child can bring even a strong adult to his or her knees, asking God why, pleading for answers. Hanging on to even the smallest shred of hope that it's just a passing thing. An anomaly. Not a lifelong illness. Not debilitating. Not life altering. A fluke.

But we know we have to prepare ourselves for anything.

I feel for N. My thoughts and my heart are with her constantly. I know, and as I told P, if anything ever happened to B, I think they'd have to put me in a straight jacket.

We are a family. A non-conventional one, maybe, but still a family. All of us. We have to stick together.


0 Comment(s)

last - next