navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

What a great game!
Friday, Aug. 02, 2002, 11:34 am

The Mariner's won the baseball game we went to. Yay M's! What a game! Unfortunately, this particular game was not televised, so nobody got to see me on TV.

Our seats were almost directly behind homeplate, row 4. It felt like we were in the game. Seeing the players from that perspective was unbelievably cool. Man, they are real people! Imagine that!

We got to Safeco Field about an hour and fifteen minutes before game time. First of all, we had a Diamond Club parking pass, which allowed us to whiz past the paying public right into a spot on the first floor of the parking garage. Very nice indeed! A short walk to the Diamond Club entry gate, and we were in! Ushered to the buffet area, where a nice lady gave us the low down on what to do and where to go. The food was fabulous, and there was a lot of it! The full service bar was just off to the side of the restaurant, and we could order anything we wanted. For free! Everything was absolutely free! I tried to find someone to make change for me, and couldn't find a cash register anywhere!

At the entries to the field, there was popcorn, cracker jacks, hot pretzels, sodas, bottled water, and other things for us to have if we wanted it. Oh, and an ice cream machine! Once inside, there were little order forms to fill out with sandwiches, pizza, burgers, hotdogs, drinks, beers, wines, etc. and there were waiters to bring whatever we wanted right to us at our seats!

I'll tell you what. If I ever do hit the lotto, I am going to get season tickets in the Diamond Club. We had the time of our lives. I think it was even more fun for us because it was such a completely different experience for us -- being treated like VIP's and having everything we could want at our disposal.

And as if the whole afternoon wasn't delightful enough, when we left the field and went to our car, we were allowed out of the garage first, ahead of the swarms of people leaving. We zipped right out and were on our way home in no time.

And let's just say this about Safeco Field (it was my first time seeing it): WOW!! I'd heard other people say how magnificent it is, and that it is the most beautiful baseball field anywhere, but it didn't mean anything to me. After seeing it for myself, and from the perspective of the homeplate umpire (!) I now know what people were talking about. The roof was open, it was a gorgeous 70 degree day, the grass was so very green, and everything was perfect. The stands were completely full of people. Again, I can only say WOW!

I realize my chances of scoring these tickets again are about as high as actually hitting the lotto, but if I do ever get them again, I am taking pictures!


0 Comment(s)

last - next