navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

More whining and stuff
Tuesday, Jul. 02, 2002, 8:01 pm

Hmmm. What's $3,000 minus $1,500? Well, Whatawoman, that would be $1,500!

That's how much we are expecting to net from the sale of our car, after paying the mechanic to fix the leaks in the cooling system and the $%#*&! broken window.

You know, Caribou asked me in a recent guestbook entry if we'd ever considered just donating the car to charity and taking the tax write-off. The answer is yes! We did consider that briefly. Maybe we should have given it more consideration. It would have been a lot less hassle. We certainly couldn't have done worse money-wise.

I'm really kind of sick and tired of writing about my car woes. With any luck at all, and let's be honest -- we've had NO luck so far, the car will be sold tomorrow and it'll all be over. We can hope.

Anyway, Thursday is my birthday. P already gave me my present. He got me the TimeLife Singers and Songwriters CD boxed set. It is awesome! Over 100 of my favorites from the 70's. It's 11 CD's packed full of nostalgia and sweet melodies. Easy listening at its finest. I can listen to them for hours and hours, and we HAVE!

So I'm not expecting any fanfare on my actual birthday. Being it's the 4th of July, it's always kind of blended into the background of the day's events anyway. Besides that, there's nothing really inspiring about turning 39.

At least we have a 4 day weekend. That's something to celebrate. I suppose if we sell the car, we can have a car off-loading celebration. I'll be ready to drink by that time.

Here's something interesting I discovered. One nice thing about using fabric softener in the wash is the way it makes the lint from the dryer screen just sliiiiiiiide right out with no fuss. Heh.

I think I've been doing a bit too much laundry lately. And house cleaning in general. The other day I found myself extolling the virtues of using brass polish on the scuffs in my enamel kitchen sink. What demonic being has taken over my body and where has my old self gone?

Just so no one thinks I've gone completely over to the dark side, I've left the chocolate smears on the stair rail for almost two weeks. I keep meaning to wipe them down, but can't manage to find the time. So there -- a trace of the Old Whatawoman. Whew.

I almost killed all of my deck flowers. Ah, but that's a story for another day. Oh, and I'll be sure and let ya'll know what happens when concentrated liquid plant food leaks all over your cupboards. Bet you're on the edge of your seats now!


0 Comment(s)

last - next