navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The new and improved Whatawoman!
Tuesday, Jun. 11, 2002, 7:43 pm

Progress.

I am starting to see the benefits of having some time to myself every day. I am leaving work at 1 pm, and getting home sometime around 2 or 2:30 (depending on whether I have to grocery shop, pick up drycleaning, or whatever). And then tidying up my house, and doing things that are just plain stressful when B is around, like vaccuuming, doing laundry, sweeping the floors. It's amazing how fast I can whip through these things when I don't have a toddler hanging on my leg.

So today I came home and the living room was clean, all the laundry was done, and there was food in the refrigerator. All I had to do today was make the beds and start dinner.

I feel like a weight has been lifted. I don't think I fully realized the strain my schedule put on me. I mean, I knew I was at the end of my rope, but I couldn't really conceive of how good I would feel with just two hours a day of unstructured time.

In other news, it turns out we are buying a new car. P's ex-wife is selling her 96 Jeep Grand Cherokee, which has only 56k miles on it, and is FULLY loaded. The selling point for us is the tow package, which means we will now be able to buy a tent trailer, which we have always wanted to do.

We are campers, folks. But with a little one, it's really really hard to tent camp. We know. We tried it. So this is an opportunity we decided we did not want to pass up. Although a few months ago we decided against spending the money on a new vehicle, it looks like we are going to do it after all.

I pick up the car on Friday. Hee!

And she doesn't even care if we don't pay her for all of it right away. We are going to write her a check for all but what we hope to get on the sale of my current car. And when it sells, we will then pay her the rest. Her idea, I swear! She's a super cool ex-wife.

So now I have to get my car all spiffy and clean, and then advertise it. And then cross our fingers that it sells quickly.

In other other news, my niece's graduation was very nice. I got all choked up when they started playing the Pomp and Circumstance (or whatever you call it!) and the grads started filing in, two by two. When I saw her in her cap and gown, it brought tears of joy to my eyes. And then again, when they switched their tassles over from the left side to the right side, I got a little emotional.

So now she's a high school graduate. An adult, for all intents and purposes. Now the real worrying can begin, I guess.

Well, it's time to relax now. B just had a MAJOR meltdown, and we literally had to wrangle her into her pj's and wrestle her into submission to get her into bed. It was not pretty. I'm sure our neighbors are wondering what kind of torture we're using on our kid tonight. She screamed bloody murder for 15 solid minutes. My nerves really can't take too much of that. P had to instruct me to leave the room! Ah, but she's in bed, quiet, now. Maybe she just had to get it all out. Some sort of pent up emotion she needed to release. Who knows? She's two.

So good night, sleep tight.


0 Comment(s)

last - next