navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Nirvana
Sunday, Jun. 02, 2002, 8:36 pm

Today was one of those days that reminds us Pacific Northwesterners why we love it here. 70 degrees, blue skies, light breeze. A perfect day for just about anything. The entire weekend was like this, actually.

It's like this here a lot more often than people think. Sure, it rains a lot. But really, not as much as some parts of the country. We just like to perpetuate the myth of the all-consuming, never ending lousy weather conditions so people won't move here. That's how the joke goes, I think.

So anyway, the day started out with scones and raspberry jam. P's daughter K was here this weekend, so B was happy and busy, and we all had a really good time together. We helped K with her homework assignments, which included writing her very first Haikus. They were to have a patriotic theme. After spending several hours just talking about poetry, and American history, and the feelings of one nine year old American girl, she was ready to compose. Here is her first Haiku:

I'm starting to think

About freedom and Justice

It makes me feel good

If you knew the history lesson and contemplation and real thought that went into that little poem, you'd understand why it brings a tear to my eye to read it.

After we finished writing poetry, we spent some time drinking sweet ice tea on the deck with the patio umbrella full up. We then decided it was too nice to stay home, so we went for ice cream cones and headed for the park. We spread our blanket on the beach, and K and B immediately headed for the water. P and I took turns making sure B didn't drown, we all got some sun, and then we came home.

Dinner and baths are done, P is taking K home right now, and B is in bed. And I am here, alternating between watching the sunset from my deck, and typing this. There is no TV on, no music, no noise (just the low level swishing from the dishwasher). It is beautiful.

Tomorrow my new work schedule is supposed to start. But wouldn't you know it. The first week I'm supposed to cut back and have Friday off, my backup decides to go on vacation. He's known about this for three months. But two weeks ago he decides to take a vacation. So it's doubtful my hours will be greatly reduced this week, but I will try to leave each day by 2:00 or 2:30. I'm supposed to leave at 1:00. And I'm supposed to be off on Fridays, but I will have to go in this week for a half-day.

I suppose if this is the worst thing I have to complain about, I'm a pretty darn lucky gal.


0 Comment(s)

last - next