navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

I got my wish, now what?
Tuesday, Apr. 30, 2002, 2:43 pm

The closer it gets to June, the more nervous I am becoming. Nervous about my reduced work schedule. About what that means, financially and otherwise.

I�m not normally afraid of change. In fact, I am very welcoming of it. It�s just been a really long time since I had to be dependent on somebody else. Reducing my work schedule means losing all of my employee benefits. No health insurance (and I get company paid FAMILY coverage. That�s a tough one to give up.). No vacation accruals. No sick days. No paid holidays. No 401(k) participation (or 20% employer matching). And I lose my Exempt status. That pains me. I have to go back to being Non-Exempt. That�s like being demoted.

I don�t think I have to give up my office. Nobody�s mentioned it yet. I might cry if they stick me back in a cubicle.

But this was my choice. And I am really looking forward to it, aside from all my worries about money and status. This is really the best thing for my family. I just wish I believed it was the best thing for me. Emotionally speaking. It might be. I think it will be. I think it will be the smartest thing I ever did. Once I get past the shock of losing a little of my independence. I just have to realize it. It will be good for me. It will.

Actually, after I did all the math, I realized I will make more money per year working 24 hours a week, than a lot of people make working full time. For that I should be grateful and quit whining, I know. And my husband has health insurance that covers all of us, and I�ve been double-covered for years now, so losing my insurance is no big deal. And we already own two mutual funds, and we can always get another, or an IRA or some other retirement savings account, to replace my 401(k).

So it will be okay. I just keep telling myself this. I hope it sinks in soon.


0 Comment(s)

last - next