navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

I try to be nice, and I fail.
Friday, Mar. 22, 2002, 4:53 pm

For the past couple of hours, I've been trying really hard to do something super nice for P. I've been trying to get ahold of his daughter's mother, to see if I can come and pick K up earlier than we had originally planned.

See, P has an hour long commute home. Then, on Friday evenings, he has another 45 minute (one way) commute out to pick up his daughter, which makes for a very long Friday. He really dreads it. Not the picking up and seeing K part. The driving part.

So I thought it would be nice to make the drive myself and pick her up early, since I get off work a couple of hours before P does. Besides that, B loves to visit out there, and they love seeing her. But nobody is answering the phone, and I am not going to drive out there if they're not home. I've sat in their driveway before, waiting for them to get home, and it's not fun.

So, I keep calling, every 10 minutes or so, hoping someone will answer. Before too long, though, my motivation to do this kindness for my husband is going to fade. I can feel myself slipping into Friday night mode already. Last thing I want to do is get in the car and drive. Guess I'll give it another half hour, then P will just have to stick to plan A. Plan B didn't work out.

When I told him (on the phone) of my intentions, he was quite pleased, but then very despondent when I told him I couldn't reach anyone at their house. He begged me to keep trying. Kind of made me chuckle, this desperation of his.

He loves seeing his daughter. We enjoy the weekends she is here, and B goes apeshit to see her sister. It's just the drive after a long work week. It's really abominable. Traffic here sucks, and it's just...long. Tiring. Poor P.

At least I tried to do a nice thing for him today. I know he appreciates the sentiment.


0 Comment(s)

last - next