navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Chai addiction
Saturday, Mar. 16, 2002, 6:39 am

Over the past couple of weeks I've developed a serious Starbucks addiction. It started out innocently enough. One frosty morning, I succumbed to the warmth of the lights and ambience of the Starbucks I pass every day on the way to the daycare. I parked the car, wrestled B out of her carseat, and went inside. I didn't care that it would make me late for work. I had to have something warm to drink.

Not being a coffee drinker -- having never drank a cup of coffee in my life -- and being too encumbered to fuss with hot tea and all the steeping and mixing of sugar and milk, I ordered a Grande Chai latte. And a maple nut scone.

That was the beginning of my addiction. Now I am compelled by forces beyond my control to stop there every morning. B has come to look forward to it. She seems to love the warmth and the smells of the coffee shop as much as I do. And she likes handing over the money and dropping the change into the tip jar. If I make an attempt to drive past the shop, she bellows out, "Mama Chai! Mama Chai!" and I am forced to stop.

This is a $5 per morning habit. Sure, I could skip the scone. That would save me $2. But once I see them, and smell them, I am helpless to stop myself from buying one. And besides that, B would be disappointed if we didn't have that maply sweet chewy goodness to share on the way to the daycare.

So in an attempt to break myself of this expensive habit, I bought a box of Oregon Chai at the grocery store. This is the concentrated syrup mixture that many (not Starbucks) coffee houses use to make their Chai drinks. So now I make my own Chai Lattes -- with nonfat milk -- in the comfort of my own home. And I must say, they are every bit as yummy as those that I pay $3 for at Starbucks. Sure, I have to actually mix them myself, and the milk isn't quite as frothy, but they taste exactly the same! Yesterday, I mixed up a Grande sized batch, put it in my Starbucks travel cup, and drove right on past the shop, sipping the rich Chai goodness that I made for myself in my own kitchen.

No scone to nibble on, but that's for the better anyway.

So I haven't actually conquered my addiction. I just made it more affordable. Baby steps.

Now, if only I knew what to do about all this Easter candy I am compelled to purchase. Honestly, it's everywhere. I am out of control.


0 Comment(s)

last - next