navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Look away!
Wednesday, Feb. 20, 2002, 2:05 pm

Ah, it�s hump day again. Which is not nearly as interesting as it sounds.

A meeting with bankers, a dental appointment, and lunch have taken up most of the day so far. Eventually I need to get some work done, though. I am cursed with the work ethic.

I feel pitifully blah for some reason. It�s like it�s taking all the strength I have to make my fingers move over the keyboard. My brain is jumping from topic to topic, as if there are so many interesting things going on in my life that I just can�t decide which one to write about. And I actually feel like if I curled up on the floor beneath my desk, I could go to sleep. Lunch consisted of chicken ala king w/egg noodles � could that have done this to me?

________________________________________

Oh. My. God.

We have a new loan officer. He�s from Pasadena, and he�s visiting us here in Seattle for the first time. My boss just brought him around to meet me. Oh, he�s quite gorgeous. Tall, lean, and very handsome. And here I sit, the entire left side of my face paralyzed from the anesthetic the dentist gave me.

I am mortified. I knew I�d have to meet this man some day. I didn�t know he�d be beautiful, but even before I knew that, I still wanted to make a good impression. Why today? Why of all days?

I�m sure he couldn�t care less that I sat here looking like a stroke victim. But I have this fear that whenever he talks to me on the phone, when he pictures me, my mouth will be droopy and my left eye will be lazy. And I�ll have that endearing ever-so-crooked smile people find so attractive.

Shit.

Okay. Now I�m wide awake. Jarred back into reality by humiliation and mortification. Guess I�ll try to get something done. Or maybe I�ll go hide in the restroom, and throw my arms over my face whenever someone enters, and cry, �Look away! Look away! I�m hideous!�

You know what irritates me? The fact that I didn�t have to have the anesthetic. I only got it because I�m a big fat baby who can�t stand the thought of the dentist messing with my teeth. A normal person would have had what I had done with no shots. Not me.

Now I�m paying the price.

Look away!


0 Comment(s)

last - next