navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Birthday Bonanza
Saturday, Feb. 16, 2002, 5:14 am

We get hit really hard birthday-wise in the month of March. All three of our kids (B, P's daughter K, and my niece T) were all born in March. We consider those three to be "our kids."

B is easy. The Little Mermaid video, some new books, maybe a new toy, and she'll be happy. K is a challenge because she's not really a toy person. We've spent lots of money over the years on toys and whatnot, only to have her totally ignore them 99% of the time. Buying for her has proven wholly unsatisfying for me. When you buy someone a present, it's nice when they actually like it and use it/play with it. We haven't had a lot of success in this area with K. Could be because she already has just about everything a kid could possibly want at her other house, so whatever we give her is just more "stuff." I think this year I am going to buy her some go-go boots. I got some for B for Christmas, and K seemed veeeeery interested in them. She's big enough and old enough now (9) that I should be able to find her some nice stylish leather booties that she can wear with anything, and still be the most stylish kid on the block. Anyway, that's just one idea. Actually, that's the only idea I have at the moment.

My niece, T, is turning 18 on the 10th. 18. I can hardly believe it. I remembered that I bought a bond 5 years ago that's worth $100 today, now that it's fully matured. I originally bought it thinking I would buy one every month, but it was the only one I actually bought. Now seems a good time to cash it in, and help defer our birthday expenses. But what to get her? 18 is a milestone birthday, and I'm struggling with not only the fact that she's about to become an adult, but also with the notion that her 18th birthday present ought to be special. I'd like to buy her something domestic, like dishes, or pots and pans, or some other household appliance-type things. But that would seem I am anticipating her imminent move into her own apartment or whatever, and I'm not sure that will be the case for a while. Maybe a Gap card? Luggage? Do 18 year olds need luggage? Nah, that's more of a graduation kind of gift. Ugh.

My Friend (the pregnant one) is coming up this weekend to retrieve the totes of baby stuff I put together for her. Maybe she can give me some ideas. She's cooler and hipper than me!

On a completely unrelated note, I saw the Russian skating couple on TV last night, talking about the scandal that errupted over their gold medal victory, and the sharing of the gold with the Canadians. I feel sorry for these two people. They are caught in the middle of something they have no control over, and are fearful of the reaction and opinions of the audience when they are expected to skate again in the post-competition exhibition. They're just two regular people, with feelings and fears, who just want the audience to give them the respect they deserve, but who are expecting the worst. It's horrible they have to worry about that, and I hope the (largely) American audience shows some maturity and graciousness when they take the ice.

That's it for now. Happy Saturday, and, if you're lucky enough to have Monday off (as I am), happy long weekend too.


0 Comment(s)

last - next