navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Hail to the Chief
Thursday, Jan. 24, 2002, 8:00 pm

I conducted my last Board of Directors Meeting tonight. And, as President of the Homeowners' Association, as my last official act, I resigned from my position.

I say I "resigned" but, in fact, I chose not to run for re-election. I asked for nominations for the open position, and no one volunteered. Everyone assumed I would run again, and I was apparently unopposed. So I had to explain that I was not running again, and everyone wanted to know why. And was I *really* not seeking re-election, and if I was not, then maybe somebody would step up. But only if I was sure I didn't want to do it again.

Yeah, baby. That's validation.

I know I was a good President. I did a great job. But I've done it for the last two years, and I didn't really feel like signing up for another two years. I have a toddler, two full time jobs, and I'm tiiiiiired. I care deeply about our homeowners' association, but I need a break.

Everyone understood. But I still feel a little guilty, like I'm letting everyone down. But that's just silly, I know.

It was kind of fun to be the head honcho for a while, even if it is just a homeowners' association. But hey, it's important to us and to all our neighbors. And I believe it will be a good addition to my resume.

So I am feeling rather unburdened at the moment. Kind of light, airy. Or maybe I'm just hungry.

So I'm going to eat chocolate cake for dinner. I am, after all, celebrating my unincumbancy. Is that a word? Unincumbancy?

Mmmm. Chocolate cake.


0 Comment(s)

last - next