navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Sunday Morning Comin' Down
Sunday, Jan. 20, 2002, 5:46 am

Sunday morning, very early. This is my favorite time of the day - on the weekends. During the week, at this hour I am scurrying around, getting ready for work. No time to enjoy being up, and alone.

I've got my cuppa hot tea with milk and sugar sitting next to me. I've got my new flannel jammies on, freshly washed and smelling like Downey, with my hair piled up messily on top of my head. I've just taken my vitamins, and I'm starting to get hungry. P is snoring upstairs, as is B. I've got about an hour, maybe an hour and a half, of solitude before B wakes up. These early morning weekend minutes are precious.

Last night P went to see The Lord of the Rings at the newly renovated theater in downtown Seattle. He met up with a couple of friends. He and I saw that movie a few weekends ago. We both liked it, but he really liked it and wanted to see it on the BIG BIG screen, with all the newest digital technology Paul Allen can afford. He got home about 12:30 a.m. and I was, of course, asleep. But I woke up when he crawled into bed, just enough to ask him how the movie was. He loved it, but said the evening wasn't as fun as he had hoped it would be. Something was missing. He said it was because I wasn't there. He's really so sweet. I love him.

The weather here has been very wet and windy. I can hear the rain pelting down on the skylight, and the wind gusting. The harshness of the outside is in such contrast to the peace and warmth inside right now, that it's reminding me of how lucky I am. There is really no where I'd rather be, at any given time, than right here at home. I get sappy like this when I have the time to think. Unfortunately, it doesn't happen often enough.

Today we are going to brave the wet weather and venture out, to the lighting fixture store. We need to find a lighting solution for P when he comes to bed late and wants to read. The lamps on our night stands are gorgeous pieces of furniture, but a little too intrusive when I am asleep. We are in the market for something to install just above his side of the bed, like one of those little directional lights you find in airplanes, where the light goes just where you want it to, and doesn't fill up the entire room.

So, no drama this weekend, no conflict, no turmoil. It isn't always like this, but more often than not, I'd say. About the only thing I am bugged about right now, without giving it too much thought, is the fact that we can't seem to keep our floors clean. If I could have a housekeeper to do just one thing for us every week, it would be to clean the floors. Oh, who am I kidding? I'd want the bathrooms cleaned too. And the furniture dusted. But we don't want to spend the money, so we're fighting the battle ourselves, and we're losing.

What we need is a Nu Nu, like on Teletubbies.

And if you know what I'm talking about, you either have a toddler too, or you have waaaay too much idle time and watch too much TV.

My tea's gone cold. Time to get more and get moving. It's been nice spending a few quiet minutes with you this morning.


0 Comment(s)

last - next