navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

That kid 'o mine.
Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2002, 5:05 pm

Okay, here's an entry about something that doesn't make me use the F word. By the way, I only use that word in extreme circumstances, for very special emphasis. In case you were wondering.

I stopped at the grocery store on the way home from work last night, after picking up B. Ordinarily, I try to avoid taking her to the grocery store with me because, well, because she's almost 2, and because...she's almost 2.

Anyone who has ever had a 2 year old knows what I mean.

Between bouts of crying because she couldn't ride in the basket with the food (she tries to open everything and eat it, even raw meat), yelling at the top of her lungs because I forced her to ride in the kid seat, which she apparently finds humiliating based on her reaction to it, and "following" behind me, walking, which actually means running down the aisles away from me as fast as she can, I carried her.

This is more efficient for me. I carry her in my left arm, push the cart and throw groceries in it with my right. This way, I can keep tabs on her and get the shopping done. Sure, my left arm feels like it's going to fall off by the end of the shopping trip, but it's the only way sometimes.

Last night she decided it would be a good time to show all the other shoppers her mama's boobies.

As I carried her around, maneuvering my cart as best I could, considering I was doing it one handed, she became fascinated with my boobs. This is nothing new, actually. She's a boob baby, but she usually saves her fascination for the privacy of our home.

At the store last night, she poked, pointed at, prodded, squeezed, and generally brought attention to my boobs at every possible opportunity. Usually when other shoppers were within hearing/seeing range. "Mama's boooooobies! Whee! Mama's boooobies!" Poke poke. Me: "Yes, B, those are Mama's boobies. Now cut it out!"

The more I protested, of course, the more interesting the game became. I finally grew tired of everyone staring at my chest, and my kid poking my boobs, that I just put her in the back of the cart and said to hell with unopened food. Let her eat raw meat. I have to have a little dignity.

It leaves me wondering if this is normal behavior? Or is B simply fascinated by things that will embarass Mama?

I'm especially concerned after coming down the stairs to see dismantled tampons strewn all over the living room.

I try very hard not to leave things in the bathroom cupboards that could be hazardous to B. It never occurred to me that she might use a box of tampons as a weapon against me.

Again, I ask. Is it just my kid, or do all kids like to embarass their moms? Just asking.


0 Comment(s)

last - next