navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

I'm tired, grouchy, and I need a nap already.
Tuesday, Jan. 01, 2002, 6:13 am

Yeah, happy new year and all that rot.

Sorry. Don't mind me. I didn't get enough sleep last night. Our next door neighbors had a party. The sonic assault was mighty, indeed.

We live in a condo. It's three stories (San Francisco style townhouse). We have adjoining neighbors on both sides of us. These houses were built to be sound proof. I mean, we never hear anything coming from our neighbors' houses. In the three years we've owned this house, we have never been disturbed by our neighbors, and I'm fairly certain that we've disturbed no one as well. Our neighbors broke the sound barrier last night.

Our new neighbors to the north, who have only lived here for 2 months, are a Jamaican couple with a 7 year old daughter. We've had them over a few times, and they are nice folks. Their daughter is adorable. At 9 pm last night, they called to let us know they'd thrown a party together at the last minute and wanted to make sure their music wasn't bothering us. We were well aware they were having a party by that time. While we couldn't make out exactly what kind of music they were playing, we could tell that whatever it was had a LOT of base. Their sub-wolfer must have been smoking. But it was bearable at that time.

By 11:30 the volume had been cranked up so loud that the low frequency vibrations were actually rattling the dishes in our cupboards. I went upstairs to check on B, and the pictures hanging on her walls were also vibrating. It was really obnoxious.

So P went next door and let them know the music (and I use that term loosely at this point) was a bit too loud, was rattling things off our walls, etc. and needed to be lowered. Their response was .... get this .... We TOLD you we were having a party. As if WARNING us made it okay to wake our baby, rattle the dishes in our cupboards, and shake the fillings from our teeth. Well, okay. You did tell us. Sorry to disturb you. Carry on. NOT.

Jeesh. They did turn the music down, thankfully. But I am wondering what our relationship is going to be like with them from now on. Honestly, my estimation of them as intelligent people was lowered by half after last night. I can't help but now mentally classify them in the same group as I do the idiots whose cars thump their way down the street, penetrating the sound barrier all the way. That is just....ridiculous to me. I can't fathom the mentality of this. I just can't. I've tried. It eludes me.

I guess I'm just not cool enough to understand why people would want to play their "music" so loud. To me it sounds like garbage. And it gives me a headache. And, call me crazy, but when I invite people over to my house for a party, I like to actually HEAR them when they talk.

I'm just weird that way.


0 Comment(s)

last - next