navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Three days to go, and counting.
Sunday, Dec. 30, 2001, 6:36 am

There are only 3 days left of my "vacation" and I'm planning to savor every single minute of them. Going back to work is not something I am looking forward to.

It's difficult, but I've reconciled myself to the fact that I'm not going to accomplish everything I would like to in the next 3 days. There are so many projects I want to start, to complete. But they'll have to wait. Like painting the master bath. And the kids' bath. And making some picture frames. And making P some book cases for his den. And some shelves for him, too. And a media shelf for the living room. And and and. But maybe, just maybe, I'll get the curtains made. And that light in the kitchen that needs changing. And the one on the porch. And the flooring around the kids' tub, which needs some adhesive and re-caulking. I'll probably do that first. I like that sort of thing best.

The past week has been a blur. I was starting to think to myself, Why can't I ever relax? I have this need to always be doing something. I know I was this close to driving P nuts.

And then yesterday afternoon, nothing. No urges to build anything, or fix anything. All I wanted to do was lounge around in my pajamas, play with B, and watch a little tv. I didn't even get dressed all day. I tied my hair up in a knot on top of my head -- didn't even brush it. And the phone didn't ring all day. That's a first, I think.

And it felt�.wonderful.

Today I woke up feeling rested and peaceful. But the urge to "do" something hit early and fiercely. So I entered all of my receipts into Quicken. My wallet was bulging with them, as I hadn't done it since early December. Now my wallet is lighter, and so is our checking account. Much lighter. Much much lighter. The amount of money I have spent since Thanksgiving is scary. I don't even want to know how much P spent. I just thank God that we both have good jobs that we know we are returning to. Lots of people in this area don't have that anymore, thanks to Loser Company and its massive pre-Christmas layoffs. It makes me sick to think about it. And more than a little guilty for spending so freely when I know there are thousands of people in real trouble right now.

On a less depressing note, but only slightly less (for me), B has another ear infection. I took her to the doctor the day after Christmas. Her doctor told me that if she gets another ear infection in the next month or two, she will be a good candidate for tubes in her ears. That will make 5 ear infections in the last 12 months. Tubes. In her ears. Yikes.

To look at her, you wouldn't know she was sick. Yesterday, I opened this big candy cane shaped thing full of M&M's that she got in her Christmas stocking. I gave her a few (gotta mete these things out slowly), put the top back on it, and placed it on the kitchen counter, toward the back where she couldn't reach. Then I came in here to catch up on diaries.

A few minutes later, I heard a sound from the kitchen. It was the sound of hundreds of tiny objects spattering all over the floor. I rushed in to see the chair she had scooted over to the counter, still in place, and M&M's all over the floor. All over. Everywhere. And there was B, picking up M&M's and shoving them into her mouth as fast as she could. I quickly grabbed a little bowl to gather them into, but she was faster than I was. She apparently knew she had to get as many as possible before I got to them. Her little cheeks were bulging with M&M's, like a chipmunk. And her little fists were both clenched around handfuls of them as well. I had to laugh to myself, though I wasn't happy about all the candy she was about to ingest. The child is resourceful, that's for sure! Lesson learned -- do not underestimate a toddler's resourcefulness when it comes to obtaining candy. No surface, short of the top of the refrigerator, is a safe candy storage area for a child who has no compunction about climbing on anything to reach the coveted prize.

Fortunately, P has made sure she doesn't OD on M&M's again today. He has his own M&M addiction and apparently needed a fix last night.

Me, I can take 'em or leave 'em. I mean, they're pretty good, but I wouldn't risk life and limb to get some. Not like B.

Well, that's it for now. B has awakened and so the day begins.


0 Comment(s)

last - next