navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Busy busy busy!
Saturday, Dec. 29, 2001, 4:29 pm

I've been so busy building my new fireplace mantel that I haven't updated in several days. Wow, time sure flies.

The day after Christmas we took the tree down. It had dried out to the point that I was constantly worried about it burning down the neighborhood, so as soon as I got up Wednesday morning, I started dismantling it.

We had to cut all the branches off and cut the tree itself in half to get it outside. Then P and his friend Dan loaded it into the back of Dan's truck and hauled it off to the recyling center. Bye bye Christmas tree.

Took all the interior decorations down as well. I left the outside lights up, and probably won't take them down until New Year's Day. In the process of removing all the decorations in my living room, I realized the wall which houses my fireplace (a nifty gas model encased in nice tiles) looked terribly bare and bleak. Flat. Without architecture and character. So, being the handywoman I am, I set about purchasing and installing a mantel.

I went to Lowe's (formerly Eagle Hardware for all you PNW'ers), and picked out the model I'd had my eye on for oh, about 3 years. I've been meaning to do this since we bought this house. Anyway, I couldn't tell from the box it came in how it was measured -- from the top of the shelf, or along the bottom of the shelf. I needed a shelf that measured 50" along the bottom. So I took the box to the help counter to ask the fellow there to help me figure it out. Maybe open it up and measure it or something. As soon as he saw me standing there with it, he said to me, "Ma'am," (I hate that) "I have a mantel here at my desk that, if you will buy it, I will sell to you for $15." Somewhat in shock, I said something like, "Sonny boy, let's have a look at it!" So he pulled out the box, and said, "I don't know if this is the right size for you. It measures 50" across the bottom." I almost choked on my own spit, and said, "That's just about right, I guess." Didn't want to seem too eager.

He pulled it out of the box, and it was fabulous! Much more ornamental and made out of better wood than the one I was going to buy. But it had no hardware. Oh, well! Wrap it up, young whippersnapper! I can make my way to the screw department - no problem!

Long story short, I ended up getting a $150 mantel for $15. In my book, that's practically free. So in addition to that, I bought some nice molding to make my own surround for it, and a new coping saw for the occasion. Plus some other stuff, I mean, since I was there, you know.

Plus paint, caulk, tape, new brushes (I like new paint brushes - it's a thing), the entire project, all inclusive, cost me less than $100. I know! I know! I am amazed too. Wanna see the finished product? Here is the "before" picture:

And here is the finished project:

The difference it makes in my very modern style living room is astounding. My arms are tired from patting myself on the back so much.

So that's what I've been up to the last few days. This afternoon I am off to the fabric store to select a spicy pattern to make curtains from. I am unstoppable.


0 Comment(s)

last - next