navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Followups and update on the exciting life that is Mine.
Monday, Dec. 17, 2001, 12:15 pm

I did, in fact, get my Christmas tree standing upright. I had to wait for P to get out of bed, which set me back about 4 hours in my decorating schedule. He came down the stairs, glanced at the tree, asked if it did that by itself (that being falling over), and I said no. It's a result of your wife being an idiot. He said, Oh. Okay.

And that was that. He didn't seem terribly upset and was more than gracious when I asked him to help me upright it. It wasn't an easy task, but we did it. And I even got it decorated (mostly) later that day. It's still not completely done, as it's really hard to reach the top of it, even with our 6' step ladder. But it looks pretty good, and smells great. I would take a picture to show you, but I discovered there's no way to get the whole tree in the shot. Just. No. Way.

It's big. Big big big.

________________________________________

Warning: cute toddler story

This weekend, B started calling her dad by his first name. I guess she must hear me call him by his first name, and that's where she picked it up. She goes around the house calling out, "P? P?" She goes to the stairs and hangs on the gate, calling down to him, "P! P! Where are you P!" "Mama, where's P?" Gawd, she's so cute.

________________________________________

I made a bunch of homemade candy this weekend. I intended to make cookies too, but we unexpectedly had a barfing child for most of the afternoon on Saturday, so my plans were slightly altered.

I made fudge, divinity, and toffee. I still need to make caramels and nainamo bars. I did make some applesauce bread, but I still need to make the cut-out cookies w/frosting, and the thumbprint cookies w/kisses.

And it's all going into the freezer until next weekend. Well, until Friday, when we put together our goodie gift plates for the people with whom we're close enough to give something to, but not enough to actually buy a present for. You know what I mean? Those inbetweeners. Like the next door neighbors for example. Of course, I will absolutely make sure to put their goodies on a disposable plate. The last two times I've sent something home with them, they kept my plates! I need to go get those back...

________________________________________

In addition to buying Christmas gifts, we had to buy two baby gifts as well. P's brother's wife just had a little girl on Saturday morning, and B's daycare teacher is about to have her baby boy (any day now). So Saturday morning B and I hit Babies R Us. It's so hard for me to go in that store and *not* buy a bunch of stuff for B. But I was on a mission. I bought a neat bathtub set for one, and some little outfits for the other.

And some new plastic plates for B. And some new eating utensils for her too. In all different colors, and some with Winnie the Pooh on the handles. And some with lava-lamp stuff in the handles with sparkles. And some just plain. She likes them all.

Hey, a kid's gotta have forks, right?

________________________________________

In other baby related news, I found out yesterday that my Very Good Friend is pregnant with a baby girl. Fabulous! I finally know what I'm going to do with the six (so far) totes of baby clothes and gear that we have accumulated. And there's sure to be many more totes to come in the future. She won't have to buy anything (out of necessity).

________________________________________

Well, I guess that's the update for now. I'm just trying to get through this week. Just one more week. Just four days after today. Then 11 days off, all in a row. It'll be heavenly.


0 Comment(s)

last - next