navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Crabcakes for breakfast
Friday, Dec. 14, 2001, 10:12 am

A follow up to my last entry regarding the case of tuna and the raffle drawing.

This actually has nothing to do with either, except that the general manager of our operations downstairs happens to be the guy collecting the canned food and exchanging it for raffle tickets.

The other day I sent him an email in response to the Recognition Committee's suggestion that I ask him (the plant manager) to help me, since I had so many cans and needed so many tickets, blah blah blah. I simply asked him if he would take care of me. He sent me a reply that said he would *love* to take care of me.

Ahem.

Now, he and I have had a very flirty relationship all the years I have known him. We are both very happily married. But it's a fact that before we were both married, this person wanted me in a very big way. I wasn't taking the bait at the time, so it never amounted to anything. Then we met our spouses, and moved onward and upward.

After I got his email the other day, I took the case of tuna down to his office, but he wasn't there. So I left a note that said something like, I have something for you. Where do you want it? Well, he thought this was very flirty, indeed. Yes, it was. I admit. I meant no harm, but it was a little over the top. He stated that I was as bad as he was, I admitted my guilt, then we went our separate ways. We can each dish it out as good as we can take it.

This morning I was in my office working with our IT guy on my new computer, and he (Mr. Plant Manager) walks in bearing gifts for me. Hot, freshly cooked, succulent gourmet crab cakes. Oh, dear. After he left, Mr. IT guy asks me why Mr. Plant Manager is bringing me crabcakes? I simply said, because I flirted with him yesterday. Mr. IT guy said something like, Oh. Duh. As if it's perfectly normal, and went on his way.

And that's where it ends. I feel marginally guilty for flirting with someone, being that I am a happily married woman and all. I am smart enough to know that where there is smoke, there's usually fire, so it would be best to discontinue this sexual bantering with him. But it makes the days go faster, and it's fun. But is it completely harmless? That's what I have to figure out. If not, then it's got to stop.

But that will mean no more crabcakes. Damn.


0 Comment(s)

last - next