navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Tuna for turkeys
Wednesday, Dec. 12, 2001, 11:46 am

A week or so ago I bought a case of solid white albacore tuna. 48 cans of the GOOD stuff. I got a very good price for it because, well, I work for a seafood company, and it's our tuna. So there you go.

I bought it to donate to a local food bank this holiday season. I like to donate food. It makes me feel good.

There hasn't been any time for me to actually go to the food bank in the past week, so the tuna is sitting out in the trunk of my car. Every day I tell myself I must go drop off the tuna. But I have yet to do so.

Well, today we got a memo at work that said they are raffling off the 10 remaining turkeys leftover from those that they gave all the employees at Thanksgiving. These were nice 12 pound turkeys. What do you have to do to purchase a raffle ticket? Why, all you have to do is donate 2 cans of food.

I fired back an email saying I would like to donate 48 cans of food, and would that buy me 24 raffle tickets? They said yes. I emailed again, if I happened to win one or more turkeys, could those turkeys be donated to the food bank along with the canned food? Again, they said yeah, sure, why not.

My problem is solved! All I have to do is haul the case of tuna in from the parking lot, redeem the cans for my raffle tickets, and then see if I win anything. Then, if I do, I just have the guys downstairs take the turkeys with them to the food bank. I don't have any extra turkeys laying around my house, and the tuna I've been meaning to donate makes its way to the food bank.

It couldn't work out better if I planned it.

I bet I can even talk one of the guys in the plant downstairs into hauling the case of tuna in for me. Betcha!


0 Comment(s)

last - next