navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The babysitter
Saturday, Dec. 08, 2001, 4:43 am

I'm so nervous today. I woke up at 4:00 a.m., an ungodly hour even for me. Couldn't tell if it was excitement or nervousness at first, but I think it's nervousness.

This is the day we try out the new babysitter. We've never left B alone with anyone but family until now (outside of daycare). But we figured it was time to branch out, and since today is P's birthday and we have shopping to do and other errands, it seems like a good time to give B a chance to terrorize someone outside the family.

We interviewed the girl last weekend. She's a sweet lil thing. Twelve years old, fresh out of babysitter's college at the hospital, and full of energy and hope for her newly established career. Her mama brought her over last Saturday, and we spent 1.5 hours with them, talking and watching her interact with B. It went fabulously well. She answered our questions thoughtfully, and B took to her instantly. So I'm not really worried. Not worried about her ability to watch over B. I feel confident she knows all the right things to do in an emergency (she knows infant and toddler CPR, which is something *I* don't know). She graduated from Babysitter School, after all. When I started babysitting at age 12, I was clueless! So she's got a leg up on me there.

No, I'm not worried about her abilities. I'm just nervous about the whole concept. Leaving my child with someone else's child, albeit a mature and capable child. At least it'll mostly be during daylight hours, and we will, of course, be calling frequently to see how things are going.

B can be a handful, as any 21 month old can be. She likes to climb on things. Anything, really. Sends my heart leaping on a regular basis. I hope Amanda (that's the babysitter) can be diligent and not let B get away with it. And B can be quite demanding, of time and attention. She likes to be the director of the activities. And that can get quite tiresome. I don't have much compunction about telling her no. That's enough. Mama's tired of reading Goodnight Moon. Eight times is plenty. P is the same way. We devote our attention to B as much as we can, but sometimes, you know, you gotta get things done, or simply REST, and that's when we put the brake's on B's demands for undivided attention.

Amanda will have no such prior references to draw upon, and will simply have to develop her own level of tolerance for this behavior. I will advise her, of course, and assure her that it's okay to insist that B read on her own, or play on her own, and it's okay to NOT let her climb on the table and whatever else. B won't like it -- she's 2 (for the most part) and doesn't like anything that doesn't involve her doing exactly what she wants to do whenever she wants.

I have a feeling that the 4 hours Amanda spends with B today will be an eye opening experience. She will enjoy it, I'm sure. After all, it's not a bad way to earn $5 an hour. But it's not an easy way, either.

I guess what I'm nervous about is that Amanda will be overwhelmed. I hope not. It's nice to have a babysitter to call upon once in a while.

So we'll see. I'll be crossing every dangly bit on my body in the hope that all goes smooth as silk, and that Amanda decides to retain us as clients. And, of course, that nothing eventful happens while we're gone.

I sure am looking forward to a few hours alone with my husband this afternoon/evening. Today will be a good trial run, and, hopefully, the beginning of a beautiful babysitter relationship.

Wish us luck. And wish Amanda luck, too.


0 Comment(s)

last - next