navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Family reunion and other meetings
Monday, Nov. 12, 2001, 7:52 pm

Our little road trip went better than expected.

B slept almost the entire way there and back. She got a little fussy the last hour (each way) but on the whole, she was remarkable.

Got to meet my brother's Japanese girlfriend. She's been here on a three month Visa, which is about to expire. They are currently trying to figure out how to get it renewed or extended. I found her to be very nice, quite pretty, and she seems to genuinely dig my brother. That was one of my biggest worries -- that she might have ulterior motives. I don't know what's going on inside her head, but outwardly, she appears to like him as much as he likes her -- which is a lot! I've never seen him so smitten before. He's a new man. I wish with all my heart that this works out for him. I've never seen him happier.

She brought gifts from Japan for all of us. Well, all of us girls! She gave us genuine Japanese kimonos. And I think they are quite old. Each one is beautiful, and we each got a couple of different sashes to go with them. She gave one to me, and sent one home with us for K and B as well. Is that cool or what? The little kid kimonos are so cute. K and B are going to love dressing up in them.

We also got to meet "the boyfriend." Okay. Let's forget that he's a highschool drop out. Let's forget that he's got a felony conviction for theft. Let's forget that he's unemployed and can't get a job because of said felony conviction. And let's forget that he's 22 years old and dating my 17 year old niece. The boy is cuuuuuuute. Very very very cute. That's one fine looking young man. And polite? I've never met a more polite and seemingly kind hearted person. He took to B immediately. Played with her. Was kind and courteous to my niece. Hell, he even went outside and mowed my Dad's lawn for him.

I want to kill the guy. Because he's only 22, my niece is in love with him, and he's already screwed up his life so bad he can't even get a job. I truly, sincerely, emphatically hope he can find a way to turn things around. For himself, and potentially for my niece, who is determined to stand by him through thick and thin.

But man that boy is cute. Kyooooooooot.

Ahem. Sorry.

So, yeah. I can see what my niece sees in him. I only wish she could see what kind of future she'd have with him if he can't turn things around. Even if he *does* turn things around, his record is going to follow him wherever he goes, in whatever he does. She's too blinded by *something* to even consider that. I think she thinks she's only in it for "the moment." She's living in "the moment." Can't be concerned about the future. Ah, youth.

It was good to see Dad. He's so in love with B. It makes me happy to see him with her. To see her run to him with her arms outstretched, yelling Paw Paw, Paw Paw!

We had a talk with Dad while we were there. About Texas. I'll have to save that for my next post. It's getting close to my vegging hour. I will just say there have been recent developments.

All in all it was a good trip. Short, but full. P and I even got to go out on a date Saturday night while the family babysat. We were staying at a nearby hotel, so immediately went there to, well, you know. Then we went and had a scrumptious fattening dinner.

That's the order in which these things must be carried out, you know. If the fattening dinner comes first, the other thing is almost impossible. There you go. The secret of married life!

And now we're back in the grind. Tired from a long Monday at work. Weary from yet more bad news, and sad for all the people this bad news affects. Let's hope it's over now. I don't know how much more the poor people of New York can take.

To you all I say goodnight. Next chance I get, I will tell you some interesting news.


0 Comment(s)

last - next