navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Road tripping
Saturday, Nov. 10, 2001, 5:49 am

We're taking a little road trip today. Four hours south to visit the family. It's been six months (!) since we last made this trip, and for reasons obvious to anyone with a 20 month old toddler, we're a little nervous.

B gets squirmy during the 20 mile drive into my office. It's going to be an interesting morning.

P is going with us this time, which is good. He usually likes to take advantage of having a weekend (and the house) to himself, but this time he's coming along. Partly to see my Dad, partly to see my brother and his mail order bride. Partly to visit my hometown and see where I grew up, went to highschool, things like that. Partly to share in the driving and distracting of B. But *mostly* I suspect because we have to go through Portland, and where there is Portland, there is Powell's Book Store.

Visiting Powell's Book Store is an experience unto itself. Last time we stopped there, we came home with about 2 dozen books. I anticipate this trip being no different.

So we're hitting the road at 8 a.m., which leaves me a couple of hours to pack our things, gas up the car, empty the trash, and water the plants. Oh, and I might even get a shower in. B is upstairs in her crib -- she's awake, I know, because I can hear her kicking the rails -- her signal to me to get my fanny up there and rescue her from her jail cell.

So I'm off. Full report forthcoming. We're expecting drama drama drama, as we get to meet "the boyfriend" of my niece as well. Mr. Jailbird himself. P guarantees nothing resembling warmth for this guy. I guarantee less from me.

Have a good weekend!


0 Comment(s)

last - next