navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Just for the publicity, that's my guess.
Thursday, Oct. 11, 2001, 11:41 am

So it's Dine For America day. I think I'll insist that we go out to dinner tonight! There are several participating restaurants in our area. And there are many many more in Seattle proper.

I think it's interesting to see that every restaurant that's participating has a different amount they're donating. Some say 100% of day's proceeds. Some say 10% of day's sales. I'm going to choose a restaurant that says 100% of day's sales. You can't ask for much more than that!

I saw one restaurant is giving 10% of the day's proceeds. I don't know how they're defining proceeds, but I define proceeds as bottom line, so how chintzy is that? I mean, 10% of the day's SALES would be one thing, but the proceeds? If their margin is as high as 20% (and that would be a GREAT margin) then they'll contribute 10% of 20%? What's that? .02 of sales? Chintzy.

Maybe my math skills aren't as sharp as some, but even I can figure out that if it's worded cleverly enough, some of these restaurants aren't going to be contributing much at all. I think that sucks.

I guess we should just be glad people are doing anything. Even if it's just to get free advertising and isn't going to really cost them anything.

I probably sound a lot more jaded that I really am. But I'm a little irked by some of these participating restaurants.

Can you tell?


0 Comment(s)

last - next