navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

I believe we have a future
Friday, Sept. 28, 2001, 12:09 pm

P has started saying strange things to me. Not creepy strange, or perverted strange (which doesn't really bother me hehe). Just things out of the ordinary. Out of the ordinary of "our lives" I guess. Since 9/11/01, our lives have changed. Plain and simple. We feel differently than we used to, and we act differently than we used to. Nowhere has this been more apparent than in some of the things P has said to me in the last few days.

For example, the other night he said, "Let's buy some plane tickets. I want to buy some plane tickets. We've got to get the airlines going again. I want to go to Texas, I want to FLY to Texas."

He was down in Texas the weekend before the WTC attack. When he came back, I distinctly remember him saying that he didn't want to go back to Texas for a long long time. Now he wants to fly there tomorrow. To bolster the airlines. To help out. To make things normal again. As much as we can.

Last night he said he wants to go camping. Let's go buy a tent trailer so we can take the baby and not have to worry about the weather so much. Let's pump some money into this economy. It's got to start somewhere with someone.

I got an email from him today telling me how much he loves me and B and why don't we do regular monthly contributions of, say, $50 to the Red Cross from now on?

And last, but not least, I've had $2,500 that I've been saving to invest in a mutual fund for B's college education. I've had the money and the brokerage account for over 6 months, but just as I was about ready to make a buying decision, the market tanked, and I've been too afraid to do anything. Well, we decided the rebuilding of America would start with us, I guess, because we took that money yesterday, and we BOUGHT a mutual fund. Just decided to do it. Jumped right in. The broker said this is a great time to invest. Stock prices are down, you can get more shares for your money, and long term investors have nothing to lose by investing now.

So we did it. P was so happy last night that we did something. We *did* something. I think he just really needed to feel like we were making an effort somehow, in some way.

In a weird way, I think maybe we are better people for what happened. I can't explain what I mean by that exactly, but I think maybe we aren't taking as much for granted as we used to. We aren't *waiting* for anything to start living our lives. We are jumping into life right now. Doing what we have been putting off. Planning for the future.

That's it.

We're still planning for the future.


0 Comment(s)

last - next