navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

I am an American woman
Friday, Sept. 21, 2001, 1:36 pm

A friend and co-worker gave me something to read today that she had written just this morning. I think it's worth sharing (with her permission):

****************************************

I am an American woman. My very existence strikes terror into the hearts of religious extremists around the world. I am free, and they fear what they cannot control. I am free. I have access to the highest technology. I can own property, hold political office, give orders, command power. I am free to state my opinion of anything at any time, to speak when and to whom I please. I am free to marry whom I choose, when I choose, or not at all. To have children, or not. To work for whom I choose. To dress as I please and show my face to the world.

I am an American woman. I am not alone. I have millions of sisters, who are of all races, colors and faiths. We are all free. Free to be different from one another, and to be stronger because of those differences. We are free to die as martyrs when attacked by those who fear us. Free to be part of a nationwide support system for those who go to war against terrorism. Free to serve in our military, to be part of the hammer of justice when it falls upon those who plan and encourage terrorism. Free to nurture future generations of those who will hold freedom in their hearts.

We are American women. We have been murdered by those who fear us, and these cowardly acts have strengthened us. We stand resolute, bloodied but unbowed, with the flag in one fist and the flame of freedom in the other. We will not be defeated.

By Jeanne Benson, September 21, 2001

****************************************

Well said, Jeanne. Well done.


0 Comment(s)

last - next