navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Thank God for Visa
Monday, Aug. 27, 2001, 7:53 am

$485 later...

The air conditioner in my car is fixed.

I knew I wouldn't get out of there for the price of a recharge. Oh, no. Not when *this* part and *that* part need to be replaced. $200 for parts. $145 for labor. $70 for the recharge. $30 for an oil change. Plus tax, thanks.

The mechanic called me at work to give me the bad news. Leaky high pressure something or other hose thing that looks like a pipe with a muffler on it. Can't recharge an a/c with a leaky pipe thing. Here's how much it'll cost. Shall I proceed?

I told him I'd have to call him back.

So I called P. He was less than thrilled at the news. He even hinted that since I'd gone THIS long without it, maybe we could hold off on getting it fixed right now. Sure, that's easy for him to say. He HAS air conditioning. I pointed this out. He recanted.

So, as I already mentioned, $485 later you could freeze popsicles in my car. The mechanic told me to not run the max a/c for more than 4-5 minutes at a time, because it is now working so good it could freeze up the whole system. I don't know if that's good or bad.

I do know that I've been driving around in coolness and enjoying it immensely. And I'm sure B appreciates not riding in a wind tunnel.

So bring back the hot weather. I'm ready for it now.

I'm hoping for an Indian Summer. There's no better time of the year.


0 Comment(s)

last - next