navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Hello caller, I'm listening.
2001-08-21, 10:17 a.m.

Now that summer's mostly over, it seems like a good time to get the air conditioner in my car fixed. I can't believe I've gone all summer without it. I hate being hot in my car. Having to drive with all the windows down to keep from broiling my kid in the backseat. You should see what happens to my hair when all the windows are down. Unintentional dreadlocks. It's awful.

I have managed to avoid melting to death so far. And I've proven people can live without airconditioning. But I'm fed up now. Tired of sweating, tired of messy hair, tired of not being able to hear my radio because of the traffic noise. Tired tired tired of it all.

I made an appointment to have the a/c serviced tomorrow. Co-worker D is going to follow me to the repair shop and give me a lift to work in the morning, so I can leave my car there all day. I explained to the fella on the phone that I think it simply needs to be recharged (which is probably the case). He replied, "Oh, it might need more than that." Then quickly added, "A recharge is about $90." No mention of what it might cost if it needs more.

My question is this: how on earth would I know if all it needs is a simple recharge? They could pretty much say anything, charge me anything, and I would have absolutely no way of knowing. It irritates me that I'm so clueless about auto repair, but hey, I am, so sue me. I need someone else to take care of this stuff for me. Is there an honest mechanic out there? Is this guy going to invent some problem that I'll have to pay for? Am I worrying for nothing?

I hate getting ripped off. And it absolutely INFURIATES me that I'm more likely to get ripped off because I'm a woman. But what choice do I have? I have to trust them. And if they choose to rip me off, well, I guess that's something they'll have to answer for in the hereafter (at least I hope they do). Still, here and NOW it pisses me off that I'm feeling helpless about it. No power. No knowledge. At their mercy.

Jeesh, no WONDER I didn't get my a/c fixed before now. I've been harboring deep-seeded anger, hostility and resentment toward auto mechanics, which has probably subconsciously prevented me from wanting to get my car fixed.

I think I just psychoanalyzed myself.

My Point Is ... well, you get the point. I don't trust those guys. And unless I pick up my car tomorrow afternoon and they tell me that all they had to do was recharge-the-a/c-that'll-be-$99-please, I will always be suspicious. And feel taken advantage of.

Whether or not I actually was taken advantage of is not the point. It's my perogative to feel victimized by auto mechanics who charge more than I want to pay.

I feel better for having gotten that off my chest. Thank you.


0 Comment(s)

last - next